Daily Archives: May 24, 2017

May 24, 2017 1 Samuel 20,21; Psalm 34; 2 Corinthians 6

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Discover One Thing Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Live It Out | Kim Chipman

S~ Whoever of you loves life and desires to see many good days, keep your tongue from evil and your lips from telling lies. Turn from evil and do good; seek peace and pursue it. Psalm 34:12-14 (NIV)

O~ Ecclesiastes 12:13 Now all has been heard; here is the conclusion of the matter: Fear God and keep his commandments, for this is the duty of all mankind. 

John 14:23 Jesus replied, “Anyone who loves me will obey my teaching. My Father will love them, and we will come to them and make our home with them.

1 John 3:18 Dear children, let us not love with words or speech but with actions and in truth.

John 13:17 Now that you know these things, you will be blessed if you do them.

O~ There is a distinct connection between faith and blessings through action. I need to not only know and love You, but DO what You say. It requires action on my part. Keep Your commands, obey Your teaching, pursue peace, love with actions.

The essence of daily reading and soap is to find truth to apply to my life, not just learn Your Word academically.

P~ Lord, help me to be transformed by Your Word. Help me to live out Your Truth – to truly live and love like Jesus. I love You!

Close To A Broken Heart | Kelley Deases

S~  The Lord is close to the brokenhearted and saves those who are crushed in spirit. Psalm 34:18 (NIV)

O~  When I first sat down to read my Bible this morning, I was feeling sorry for myself. Kinda sorry, sad, and emotionally overwhelmed. In only a week-and-a-half, my firstborn son will be getting married. And we’ve been presented with a unique opportunity to purchase a new home. But, as this exact same time, my husband and younger son have traveled out of state to visit my mother-in-law, who just suffered a brain aneurysm followed by a stroke. So my husband and I are separated by 700 miles and a completely distinct set of circumstances. Not to mention the strain we always feel when either of us is pulled back into the dynamics of our families of origin.

A~  But then I read Psalm 34:18 and it takes me back to another time when I was truly overwhelmed and in a pitiful state. My first husband had left me and I was scared and angry and alone, with a two-year-old son to raise. That is when a dear lady from my church was nudged by the Holy Spirit to handwrite this verse on a note card and send it to me. God used that sweet servant and this verse to let me know He saw me in my despair. Today when I read this same verse, He is still reassuring me of His nearness to me, but also compels me to reflect on how far He has brought me from that desperate time so many years ago. That little boy over whose future I cried is now 21, walking with the Lord, heading to seminary to pursue a ministry calling and about to marry a God-fearing young woman. I look around my beautiful home and realize we are blessed if we stay and blessed if we pursue this new one. Moreover, God gave me my husband, to whom I have now been married 11 1/2 years, and another son. And though we are currently separated by miles and family stuff at the moment, we will sort it out as we have done for over a decade now. God is near to him as he visits with and cares for his ailing mother. And God has seen fit to give us both more than a little note this time; He has given us each other, with whom we can traverse these major life events.

P~ Father, You have been faithful to me all these years. Why do I doubt? Why do I worry? Thank You for calming my broken/anxious/unfaithful heart with Your perfect peace.

Live differently than unbelievers | Nikki Metzger

S~ Therefore, come out from among unbelievers, and separate yourselves from them, says the Lord. 2 Corinthians 6:17 (NLT)

O~ This seems like a harsh lesson in this world where we are all striving to be like everyone else.  Or we are wanting those things that the world has to offer.

A~ God Himself is calling us out of this world and to separate us from unbelievers.  Separate ourselves from how they live, how they act, what they chase after.  Walk along side unbelievers, but live different!

I know this to be the case because Jesus told us to go and make disciples.  We do that by being with others, unbelievers. He loves everyone He created and wants everyone to join His family!

P~ Father, I want my life to look differently than an unbeliever.  Separate me, but help me to share the Good News with them so all will be saved and not perish!  In Jesus’ Name!  Amen!

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

