May 19, 2017 1 Samuel 14; 1 Chronicles 4; 2 Corinthians 1

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Discover One Thing Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Complete Trust | Kim Chipman

S~ …Nothing can hinder the Lord from saving, whether by many or by few. 1 Samuel 14:6 (NIV)

O~ My study Bible says: “Have you ever felt surrounded by the “enemy” or face overwhelming odds? God is never intimidated by the size of the enemy or the complexity of a problem. With Him, there are always enough resources to resist pressures and win the battle. If God has called you to action, then bravely commit what resources you have to God, and rely on Him to lead you to victory.”

A~ “nothing can hinder the Lord from saving” – THAT is spoken by a person with absolute trust. The odds were stacked against Jonathan, but he does not show one morsel of doubt that the Lord will prevail. Nothing looked like victory was possible for them. Not one shadow of doubt. Nothing can hinder the Lord. I want that level of trust for You. I really do.

P~ Lord I believe, but help my unbelief! Help me to completely trust You. I love You!

The Holy Spirit Lives in Me | Joni Tyner

S~ And He has identified us as His own by placing the Holy Spirit in our heart as the first installment that guarantees everything He has promised us. 2 Corinthians 1:22 (NLT)

O~ This is Paul’s second letter to the church in Corinth.   The chapter overview in my Bible says they were new believers that struggled in their Christian faith and lifestyle.  (sound like believers of today?)

A~ At first I skimmed over this verse and didn’t really absorb the meaning of it– But, as I re-read this , I was struck by how crazy important this verse is in my daily living-it-out faith journey.  A couple of thoughts:

“He has identified us (Joni) as His own.”–  The Lord has specifically handpicked me as His child and He knows me intimately.

“He has place the Holy Spirit in my heart as the first installment.”  Installment means  continued, ongoing  payments. I am so comforted that this isn’t a once in a lifetime event but an ongoing progress—I totally need that steady encouragement and motivation to stay on track.

“that guarantees everything He has promised us. (Joni).  All the promises in the Bible are going to be fulfilled.  Again, a BIG DEAL!!!!  I can rest assured that what God says is true.  I’m learning that God’s timing isn’t mine and some of His promises might not be fulfilled this side of heaven.   I’m learning faith is continuing to hold on when things just don’t make sense.

P~ Dear Lord, I’m so sorry that I’ve frequently discounted the importance of having Your Holy Spirit in me.  The same Spirit that raised Jesus from the dead lives in me.  That is a big deal.  Please help me live out my daily life with a constant realization of this.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on May 19, 2017, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

