May 15, 2017 1 Samuel 8,9; 1 Corinthians 14:26-40

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Discover One Thing Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Guidance | Nikki Metzger

S~ Samuel was displeased with their request and went to the Lord for guidance.  1 Samuel 8:6 (NLT)

O~ I just love Samuel’s response to Israel’s request for a king to rule over them.  He understood the heart of where the request was coming from and instead of complaining or cajoling the people into loving the Lord more, He went straight to the Source!

A~ Thank You Lord for pointing me to my first thing I need to do when something displeases me.  I need to be like Samuel and come straight to You for guidance.  When the kids are being hurtful to each other, I come to You first for parenting guidance.  When I’m displeased with my work schedule, I come to You for guidance on my calendar.  When I’m displeased with what my hubby has said, I come to You for guidance on my response!  You first!

P~ Father, thank You for this gentle reminder of You first!

Lead Me | Kim Chipman

S~ And the Lord told him: “Listen to all that the people are saying to you; it is not you they have rejected, but they have rejected me as their king. 1 Samuel 8:7 (NIV)

O~ Samuel was old and appointed his sons to lead Israel, but they didn’t lead honestly with integrity. The people were asking for a king “such as all the other nations have”.

A~ This resonates with me right now in parenting my teens. I’m not anywhere close to perfect, and I’m sure Samuel wasn’t a perfect leader either, but I’m pursuing You and Your ways. often my kids just want whatever “all the other nations have”. Often I feel upset, but I feel right now like this is for my heart. It isn’t always about me. I’m trying to lead my kids to follow YOU not just ME. That would be a disaster because I’m kind of a mess and pretty limited. I want them to follow YOUR lead, YOUR voice, YOUR ways.

The Israelites were rejecting YOU as their leader. Sometimes I do this very same thing as well…ouch!

P~ Lord, help me to choose You each and every time. Help me choose spirit over flesh, holy over worldly. Every. Time. I love You!

Strengthening the Body of Christ | Joni Tyner

S~ Well, my brothers and sister, let’s summarize.  When you meet together, one will sing, another will teach, another will tell some special revelation God has given, one will speak in tongues, and another will interpret what is said.  But everything that is done must strengthen all of you.  1 Corinthians 14:26  NLT  (my emphasis)

O~ Paul is giving instruction to the church at Corinth.  My study Bible says that there were concerns that that gift of speaking in tongues was causing disorder and interrupting worship services.  Paul uses chapter 14 in 1 Corinthians to emphasize the importance of having ALL believers grow in their spiritual walk and develop gifts that strengthen the entire church.

A~ The more I study the Bible, the more I see reoccurring themes that I believe God wants us to embrace.   Here are a few that come to my mind.

  1. Love God.
  2. Love others.
  3. Serve others.
  4. Humility towards others instead of building one’s self up.
  5. God’s Word (the Bible) is where we find truth.  Through studying God’s Word, we often will receive revelation from God.  (This is what many  people refer to as God speaking to them or being led by the Spirit)

P~ Dear Lord, please help me keep my eyes focused on the big ideas of the Bible.   I don’t want to waste time and energy on activities that aren’t in line with Your purpose for my life.  I pray You strengthen my “encouragement muscle” to that I am able to be Your voice to others.  Please use my life to give You glory.  I love You.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on May 15, 2017, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

