Daily Archives: May 14, 2017

May 14, 2017 1 Samuel 6,7; Psalm 72; 1 Corinthians 14:1-25

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Discover One Thing Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

The Lord fights for me | Nikki Metzger

S~ While Samuel was sacrificing the burnt offering, the Philistines drew near to engage Israel in battle.  But that day the Lord thundered with loud thunder against the Philistines and threw them into such a panic that they were routed before the Israelites. 1 Samuel 7:10 (NIV)

O~ Israel was finally repenting and giving up idols and wholeheartedly were following the Lord.  They were all gathered together when the enemy decided to attack.  But the Lord fought for them and delivered the enemy into the Israelites hands.

A~ Here is an example of the Lord fighting for His people.  God literally put the enemy right before Israel.  Israel had to destroy their enemy and chase them down, so they participated in victory.  However, God did 99% of the work by delivering the enemy to their hands.

And the Lord was very apparent to show how He fought for His kids once they decided to be fully devoted to Him.  I want this truth engrained to my brain, my soul, my heart, my thoughts – the Lord fights for me!!

P~ Father Your Word says You will work all things out for my good and Your glory.  I believe it now more than ever!  You have opened my eyes to a whole new plethora of health science these last several months.  The stuff I’m learning and how it’s affecting my moment to moment to life is amazing.  I want to tell others because I feel so good.  Thank You!!  But, it’s just my physical body, my emotions, my sleep, my stress that’s better.  These are not eternal things.  I want everything in me to ALWAYS point back to You!  Besides creating our body, mind, and soul and knowing everything about it…. how do I take this knowledge and point back to my King who is always fighting for me?

God’s Heart | Kelley Deases

S~ For he will deliver the needy who cry out, the afflicted who have no one to help.  Psalm 72:12 (NIV)

O~ God’s heart is for people. All people. Even those the world doesn’t seem to have much use for. Our culture esteems the rich and famous and beautiful, movie stars, tech giants, politicians and royalty. But who is there to show concern for the poor? Who is there to show God’s love to the least of these?

A~ Heartland Hope Mission was established as a response to the cries of the needy in Omaha, Nebraska. The Lord laid it on the hearts of His people to show His love through serving the poor. That was fifteen years ago and it is still happening today. In fact, God continues to grow this outreach as His people continue to have hearts to serve and are submitted to His leading.

P~ Jesus, Throughout Your Word, You speak of Your heart for the poor, the needy, the oppressed, the cast aside. So as we open Scripture to know You better so we can better reflect You in this world, we cannot help but heed Your invitation to have a heart for these people too.

 

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

