Daily Archives: May 10, 2017

May 10, 2017 Ruth 4; Psalm 65; 1 Corinthians 10

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Discover One Thing Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Your Word: Written for ME | Kim Chipman

S~ These things happened to them as examples for us. They were written down to warn us who live at the end of the age. 1 Corinthians 10:11 (NLT)

O~ Paul is reminding us of the idolatry of the Israelites.

A~ As we read through the Old Testament, I find myself palm to forehead often. What were the Israelites THINKING!? They make some incredibly baffling choices and decisions. Quite honestly, however, I am NO different. I see myself in them! It’s easier to see sin in someone else for sure. But here Paul reminds me to learn from those things. The Bible is written FOR ME to learn from the good or bad choices others have made before me. I can spend my entire life making stupid mistakes over and over again or I can learn from them – my mistakes and others’ as well.

P~ Thank You for Your Word. Thank You for all it holds ~ encouragement, instruction, relationship with You. I love You.

A Way Out | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ But remember that the temptations that come into your life are no different from what others experience. And God is faithful. He will keep the temptation from becoming so strong that you cant stand up against it. When you are tempted, he will show you a way out so that you will not give into it. 1 Corinthians 10:13 (NLT)

O~ Temptations are part of life. Temptations that I experience might be different than temptations of the people closest to me but there are others out there that experience temptations that I do. GOD IS FAITHFUL. He provides a way out for me in the temptation.

A~ When temptations come my way I feel like I am the only one who goes through this but I am not. I might be at the moment, in my little part of the world, but the truth is I’m not the only one who is facing or has faced what I face. In my temptation God, You are there, helping me, providing a way out. I don’t have to be ashamed and you are not ashamed of me. You are there providing a way out—so I can stand up against it.

P~ Faithful and fearless Father, you are not afraid of the things I face. You are not ashamed of me when I am tempted. The temptations are there but I don’t have to give in to them. Anger, fear, letting my mouth loose. I don’t have to give in to these things. Help me be still and know that you are God and open my eyes to see the way out You provide for me. I love you. Thank you

Best for others | Nikki Metzger

S~ I don’t just do what is best for me; I do what is best for others so that many may be saved. 1 Corinthians 10:33b (NLT)

O~ Paul is talking about real self lessons here. Something that I’m slowing learning. But I really wish that my first reaction or motive to my actions would be what is best for others. Paul is modeling something I’d like to be a part of my character, doing what’s really best for others.

A~ Last night was the perfect storm in our home. Disrespectful children, tired parents, close to bedtime, and quarreling among siblings. What was best for me was to yell and get everyone to bed quicker, so I could go to bed myself.

But You Lord whispered to me and by Your grace and strength, I chose to do the harder thing. You gave me a spirit of quiet, love, peace, and encouragement instead. Why did it work out this way instead of the way which was best for me? I hope it was because by me not yelling, it leads my family closer to You!

P~ Lord Jesus, I want to choose You over me! Please give me eyes to see what is best for others so they may be saved! I LOVE YOU! I pray this in Your Name! Amen!

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

