Daily Archives: May 7, 2017

May 7, 2017 Ruth 1; Psalm 53; 1 Corinthians 7

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Discover One Thing Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Determination – a choice | Nikki Metzger

S~ When Naomi realized that Ruth was determined to go with her.  She stopped urging her. Ruth 1:18 (NIV)

O~ Naomi urged Ruth and Orpah to go back to their parents because she was going home to Bethlehem.  Orpah stayed in Moab, but Ruth was determined to go with Naomi.

A~ Ruth and Orpah both had a choice.  But Ruth was determined in her choice to stay with Naomi.  A word study on ‘determined’ came up with: alert mentally, confirm, courageous, steadfastly minded, strong, establish, fortify, harden, increase, prevail, strengthen self.

I know that Ruth is a love story of how God weaves His family together and uses everyone, but I see something different this time through.  Orpah and Ruth’s decision to follow Naomi into an unkown land.  It seemed that Ruth had decided (determined) to stick with Naomi no matter what.  But I also don’t think that Orpah’s decision to stay was wrong either….I’m just focusing on Ruth’s determination.

What am I determined on?  What’s my resolve on matters?  NO matter the unknown, where will I establish my thoughts?  Father, set my heart determined to follow You!

P~ Father, Your will above all, my purpose remains, everlasting, Your light will shine when ALL else fades.  Give me determination Lord!

Marriage | Joni Tyner

S~ The husband should fulfill his wife’s sexual needs, and the wife should fulfil her husband’s needs.  1 Corinthians 7:3 (NLT)

O~ Paul addresses the sexual relationship in marriage in chapter 7.  It’s pretty detailed, so if any readers haven’t read it,  please do!

A~ This is one of those verses, (and chapters) I’d rather skim over and move on to something more—“Bible-like”, but of course, this IS the Bible and God’s Word is given to teach and instruct us.  So here it goes…

This chapter emphasizes the importance of having a sexual relationship in a marriage between a man and a woman.  God ordained marriage and tells us it is good  (Genesis 2:24-25)

Although I know this and agree with it,  I must admit I don’t make this part of our marriage a priority.  I frequently have “higher priorities” and …confession, it’s never once been for prayer. :O   This is one of those verses that I read and agree with, and then go off and do my own thing and try to somehow justify my actions.   I believe the application is to pretty simple—do what it says.

P~ Dear Lord, please help me to make this scripture a priority in my marriage.  I desire to please You  in every area of my life. Thank you for my husband and how much he loves me,  I feel blessed. 🙂

Why? | Deanna George

S~ Nevertheless, each person should live as a believer in whatever situation the Lord has assigned to them, just as God has called them. This is the rule I lay down in all the churches. I Corinthians 7:17 (NIV)

O~ I should live as a believer in whatever situation the Lord has assigned me just as God has called me!

A + P~ Wow, Lord Jesus, this came across so personal today. I feel three things standing out.
1. I need to live and act like a believer, no matter my circumstances.
2. I need to remember that you have assigned me to the all the roles I have.
3. You have called me. I am on this planet for a reason.
Sometimes I forget that there is a “why” to my life. Why am I here? Because you have a plan for me. Why do I have the life I have! Because you have written my story, which includes times when I have interfered and made your job harder. Why am I my boys’ mother? Because you chose me to love, teach, nature, and guide them to know and love you. Thank you for putting a burning desire in my heart to raise my children in your truth way before I had any. Lord please continue to write my story, have a plan for me, and guide me to complete the situations you have assigned me.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

