Daily Archives: May 4, 2017

May 4, 2017 Judges 16,17; 1 Corinthians 4

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Discover One Thing Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Do as I see fit | Nikki Metzger

S~ In those days Israel had no king; everyone did as he saw fit. Judges 17:6 (NIV)

O~ There is no king over Israel, which is how God planned it.  But THE King was not in the people’s hearts, so they did their own thing.  The book of Judges is all about Israel doing their own thing, God saving them, then repeat.

A~ I’m living in the days where people are doing as they see fit.  I live as I see fit too.  But it’s not going well for us as a whole: highest addiction and depression rates that our country has ever seen, estranged relationships apparent in every conversation I have, and social media giving people the opportunity to say whatever they want.

P~ Father, no matter what is happening around me, I want to submit to You.  I know that I easily slip into ‘doing my own thing’.  Paul goes as far as calling himself like the refuse of the world to follow You.  Even if I become like Paul, I want You to my King through and through!

My King | Kim Chipman

S~ In those days Israel had no king; all the people did whatever seemed right in their own eyes. Judges 17:6 (NLT)

O~ Micah’s Mom just had silver (that Micah had stolen then returned to her) melted down into an idol. Micah made a shrine with the idol and made one of his sons his personal priest. All completely against God’s commands.

A~ Honestly, as I read this I’m reminded of our present culture. The things we (I) value get off target pretty easily and quickly without anyone saying a thing…but joining in because ‘everyone’s doing it’. Micah could have pointed out to his Mom that God would not be happy with them worshiping an idol, but he joined right in and even went a step further to appoint a priest on his own for his personal use. What? I need to remember that there is a just King in my life always. No matter what people around me are doing I need to return to You for guidance. “There is a path before each person that seems right, but it ends in death.” ~Proverbs 14:12, 16:25 (NLT).

P~ Lord, help me to return to Your Word often for guidance…each decision…one step at a time…continually connected to You so I don’t pick the path that just seems right…but the path that you lead me on…even if it’s the more challenging path to walk. You are my King. I love you~

Powerful Living | Tara Wiley

S~ For the Kingdom of God is not just a lot of talk; it is living by God’s power. 1 Corinthians 4:20 (NLT)

O~ In today’s reading in Joshua, the Israelites were delivered by God’s power – across a swollen, flooded river; and through a triumphant, wall-tumbling victory over Jericho. Neither event was done by human effort, but each event required the people to walk in faith, obedient to God’s unique call – step into the flooded water; march silently around the city.

In 1 Corinthians, Paul reminds us – this God-following cannot be just a lot of talk. We have to walk it out, faithful to follow His direction, trusting His power to give us what we need each day.

A~ When the overwhelming circumstances of this life leave me feeling stuck, I can walk forward into the swollen, flooded river, trusting God’s power to pave the way for me that I cannot see on my own. When I see an insurmountable wall before me – no way in, no way around, no way to overcome this enemy – I can remember the power of God within me is the same power of God that crumbled the walls of Jericho.

P~ Lord, thank You for the reminder that You have given me power through Your Holy Spirit, power to overcome! Help me to walk in faith, not stopped and stuck, but moving forward in confident trust that You will pave the way. Today, I will live in power.

 

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

