Daily Archives: May 2, 2017

May 2, 2017 Judges 12,13; 1 Corinthians 2

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Discover One Thing Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

The Stirrings of My Heart | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ And in Mahaneh-dan which is located between the towns of Zorah and Eshtaol, the Spirit of the Lord began to take hold of him.  Judges 13:25  (NLT)

O~ The notes say, “Perhaps there are things that stir your heart.  These may indicate areas where God wants to use you.  God uses a variety of means to develop and prepare us: hereditary traits, environmental influences, and personal experiences.  As with Samson, this preparation often begins long before adulthood. Work at being sensitive to the Holy Spirit’s leading and the tasks God has prepared for you.  Your past may be more useful to you than you imagine.”

A/P~  There are things that my heart turns toward, is this you Lord? Is it me protecting myself because of what I’ve been through in my past?  Help me to have a healthy perspective about all I have been through, about myself.  Help me to commit it all to you: my past, the stirrings of my heart, my desire for justice.  In Jesus’ name. Amen.

My mind cannot conceive the plans God has for me! | Deanna George

S~ However, as it is written: ” What no eye has seen, what no ear has heard, and what no human mind has conceived”- the things God has prepared for those who love him-   1 Corinthians 2:9 (NIV)

O~ My human mind cannot begin to guess what God has planned and prepared for me!

A~ I have such a hard time giving up control in some areas of my life. It’s not like I knowingly say that I know better than God, but my actions, my decisions, and my thoughts do. The Holy Spirit knows it too! I ignore the prompting of the Holy Spirit, which is saying that I know better about my abilities, my time, or that it is important to be obedient. Ok Lord, I feel your prompting about doing a Bible Study for moms of boys. You have brought it up so much and placed it on my heart over the last several years. I have kept saying: “I don’t have the energy”, “I don’t know if anybody would really be interested”, or “Why me”. You stopped me right here and now to act on it. I was obedient. You obviously know me so well that if I didn’t do it, then I would forget or ignore it again! I can’t wait to see what you have prepared for me! Guide me Lord because you know my fear and doubt is trying to overload me, but I know you are with me and will prepare me to do your will.

P~ Lord Jesus, this is not where I thought this was going to go today. You seem to enjoy taking me out of my comfort zone. I see the steps you have done with me to prepare me. You have gotten my health to a place that I can’t remember it being this good. My energy level is better than ever. Thank you for having Mike see the difference because I needed affirmation that I wasn’t imagining the difference.  When a really rough time happened last fall, you showed me that I am strong enough to have faith and peace that you are in control, when everything was so out of control. You have given me an excitement about a new career that I didn’t think was possible. You really took me out of my comfort zone by telling me I should share my SOAP notes as part of the team on Discover One Thing. Thank you for preparing a way for me and stretching me so that I can act on your plan and be motivated to be obedient to you.

Instagram Likes | Nikki Metzger

S~ The Spirit searches all things, even the deep things of God.  For who among men knows the thoughts of a man except the man’s spirit within him?  In the same way no one knows the thoughts of God except the Spirit of God. 1 Corinthians 2:10b, 11 (NIV)

O~ So no one REALLY knows my thoughts except me and the Holy Spirit.

A~ Today I found myself comparing ‘likes’ on social media.  One person liked another person’s post, but not mine.  **Sigh**  I was really bothered by it.  No one knows how upset I am, just me and the Holy Spirit.

As I was lamenting in the whole ‘likes’ business, the Spirit gently nudged me and asked me what I’m doing.  Why am I pursuing what man says about me instead of God?  Why do I think that more social media ‘likes’ will make me feel better about me?  Who am I trying to impress?

P~ Father and Spirit ~ You search all things, even the depths of my thoughts.  Why am I caring about ‘likes’ from a certain group of people?  Isaiah 44:20  says: He feeds on ashes, a deluded heart misleads him; he cannot save himself, or say, “Is not this thing in my right hand a lie?”  Father, I don’t want to feed on ashes, have a deluded heart or not be able to recognize lies. I confess that I’m desiring the approval of man, Father, sometimes I crave approval over Your presence.  I’m so sorry!  Teach me to feed on the things that are true, noble, praiseworthy, excellent!

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

