April 21, 2017 Joshua 19,20; Romans 12:9-21

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Discover One Thing Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Can’t pick just one! | Joni Tyner

S/O/A~ “Don’t pretend to love others. Really love them.” 12:9

“Love each other with genuine affection, and take delight in honoring each other.”  12:10

I like loving people I like.  And, there are some annoying people in my life that I, to be polite, pretend to like them.  THIS IS WRONG!!!!  God is asking me to cut out the pretending crap and find something genuine in them to love.  (p.s. my assignment is my next door neighbor—prayers requested!!!   :O)

“Hate what is wrong. Hold tightly to what is good.”   12:9

I want to strive to live a life of CONSISTENT integrity.  All the time. With all types of people.  To requote Kim from a Facebook post,  “I need to be 100% in somethings.”   My continued cheerleader for this assignment is God’s Word.

“Never be lazy, but work hard and serve the LORD enthusiastically.”  12:11

My salvation is not because of me, but BECAUSE I love Him,  I must put effort and excellence into my acts of service.  Just like my job I clock in for and strive to be the best nurse I can be, I should give effort, creativity and excellence to all I do for Him.

“Rejoice in our confident hope. Be patient in trouble, and keep on praying.”  12:12

This past Sunday was Easter. I had the realization that I  had sat through approximately 400 church services since our oldest son began his rebellious lifestyle.  For the majority of those Sundays, conferences, etc, I  have felt  broken, defeated and forgotten by God.  I never stopped believing in His miracle powers, I just didn’t think our family on His list of changed lives and victory.   I’m not sure what it what, but for the first time, the Spirit seemed to grab my heart as we sang, “the cross has the final word.”   In the end, Jesus IS victorious—and this verse is spot on for me.  It needs to be everywhere in my house.   “Rejoice, be patient, and keep on praying.”

P~ Dear Lord, help me take this scripture  and really love people.  Give me new energy to hold tight to what is good.  I pray for patience and renewed hope for You. Are. Victorious.

True Humility | Tara Wiley

S~ Honor one another above yourselves…Live in harmony with one another. Do not be proud, but be willing to associate with people of low position. Do not be conceited. Romans 12:10,16 (NIV)

O~ This passage in Romans 12 carries the theme of humility from beginning to end, all wrapped up in the context of love. The kind of love that honors God is truly humble – not self seeking, not proud. Putting others first. It’s a giving, serving, acting, sacrificing love.

A~ If I want to grow in humility, it doesn’t happen through beating myself up (a common misconception – that humility=a low self esteem). In fact, I can’t be truly humble UNLESS I operate out of the fullness Christ has put in me! Self-sacrificial love requires a deep-rooted confidence in Christ, because there’s no expectation of getting built up by others.

P~ Lord, pride is always at the door. As humans, we’re constantly looking for ways to boost our own egos. But You call us to live in humility by focusing on loving and serving others without expectation of return. Help me be on the lookout to do just that today.

Miss You Diana | Kim Chipman

S~ Rejoice with those who rejoice; mourn with those who mourn. Romans 12:15 (NIV)

O~ This section is entitled “Love in action” in my Bible. Each verse is a “how” for loving well.

A~ Last week my friend Diana passed away from metastatic breast cancer. Yesterday was her funeral. The night before the funeral was the visitation and a service of remembrance during which friends and family shared things about Diana. It was truly a time of rejoicing and mourning with one another.

We rejoice because Diana loved You and her eternity is secure. We all know she is in heaven. Pain free. Suffering non existent. She lived life to the absolute fullest and now she is singing and dancing with the angels!

We mourn because we miss her. Because her 3 children have suffered a devastating loss. Because her husband desperately wanted to grow old with her. Because we can all only imagine the heartache of leaving our own children…we see their pain…it hurts. Like actually viscerally aches.

What a gift that in the body of Christ we can walk through grief together. It feels like love to not be alone, but to rejoice and mourn together.

P~ Thank you for the body! What a gift. Thank you for the amazing community we live in. I feel so blessed to live here. Please be so very near to the Connollys during this difficult time. Help us to come around them to support and love them in the best way possible. Help them to feel You as their great Comforter as they mourn. I love you!

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on April 21, 2017, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

