April 18, 2017 Joshua 13,14; Romans 11:1-10

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Discover One Thing Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Willingness to receive grace | Deanna George

S~ And if by grace, then it cannot be based on works; if it were, grace would no longer be grace. Romans 11:6 (NIV)

O~ You cannot earn grace. You must accept it from the Lord. Take it! Ask forgiveness for sins and receive the grace God offers. Be thankful that he doesn’t make us “work off” our debts.

A~ Sometimes it is so hard for me to forgive myself for hurting someone, saying something that does not reflect God’s love in me, or just plain old sinning. I would never be allowed to sleep if I had to work off all my sins to make myself right with God. What I need to work on is accepting grace after I have asked for forgiveness from God and anyone that I offended. I need to believe his grace is for me!

P~ Lord Jesus, please forgive my pride that believes I am the only one who can decide when I have earned your forgiveness. It is a flat out lie that I allow to get in the way of receiving your grace. Please help me to see when I go down the rabbit hole of trying to “earn” your grace. I want to open my heart and let your grace poor in, especially into any and all the unattractive areas that need your love and guidance. Please poor your grace on me.

Grace | Marisa Tomlinson 

S~ And if by grace, then it cannot be based on works; if it were,  grace would no longer be grace. Romans 11:6 (NIV)

O~ You can’t earn grace. Grace is defined on dictionary.com as “the free and unmerited favor of God.” The very definition of the word tells us that we cannot earn God’s favor. God chooses to bless His people and forgive our wrong doing simply because He loves us.

A~ I am thankful for grace because no matter how hard I try, I cannot be good enough. “for ALL have sinned and fall short of the glory of God.” Romans 3:23 (emphasis mine) There are days that I feel like all I do is fail. Most often I feel lie I’m failing at being a mom, but I’ve definitely felt like a failure of a fiancée, friend,  daughter, and coworker as well. When that all too familiar feeling washes over me, I easily spiral into depression. My faults are HUGE in my own eyes. I want to hide away and forget about this world. Sometimes I do succumb and wallow, but more and more I’m turning to truth. The more I sit at the feet of Jesus and just read His promises the better I feel. God chose me to be His beloved.I cannot earn that and Praise God that I don’t have to!

P~ Lord, thank you for your word that reminds me who I am when I’m feeling less than. Thank you for choosing to rescue me from the separation I deserve. I am awed by your love and favor. Thank you for teaching me how to live and love like You. Amen.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on April 18, 2017, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

