April 16, 2017 Joshua 9,10; Romans 9:19-33

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Discover One Thing Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Easter | Joni Tyner

S~ But the people of Israel, who tried so hard to get right with God by keeping the law, never succeeded . Why not? Because they were trying to get right with God by keeping the law instead of by trusting in Him. They stumbled over the great rock in their path.   Roman 9:31-32 (NLT)

O~ Paul is grieving for his fellow Jewish brothers and sisters.  He sees their good intent to please God, yet they missed out because they relied on themselves and what they did.  They couldn’t accept the simplicity of trusting Jesus.  (he is the rock that they stumbled over.)

A/P~ Dear Lord, As I consider Easter  today, please infuse me with a fresh awareness of what life looks like when I simply trust You. I pray that my heart overflows with gratitude for the personal sacrifice given by You. I pray Your Holy Spirit leads me to assignments that build Your Kingdom. Please forgive me for the countless times that I thought I was entitled to an easy life because I call myself a “Christian”.   It’s always about You, not me.  I. Love . You.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on April 16, 2017, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Thanks Joni! That really spoke to me. I have been awake only an hour this Easter morning, but already have a mental list going of what is less than perfect as I walk around my house. If I had only started with gratitude for who HE IS and what HE did for me, I would have a fresh lens through which to view.
    God’s Word and your words helped me refocus my Easter Day.
    Kelley

Leave a Reply

