April 15, 2017 Joshua 7,8; Psalm 69; Romans 9:1-18

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Discover One Thing Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

I Belong | Jill Terry

S~ That is, it is not the children of the flesh who are children of God, but the children of the promise are regarded as descendants. Romans 9:8 (NAS)

O~ If we belong to Jesus and accept His sacrifice, we not only have the guarantee of Heaven, we are a small part of the promise God gave Abraham.

Galatians 3:29 : And if you belong to Christ, then you are Abraham’s seed and heirs according to the promise.

A~ For many years, I never felt as if I belonged anywhere. As an adoptee, I had no history, no nationality, no genetic link and therefore no identity. But, I became a Christian and accepted the promise that I belonged to Jesus. I now have a history, a genetic link and the best identity of all…daughter of the King. I belong.

P~ Thank you Jesus for Your sacrifice and Your promise. I am so utterly grateful to belong to You. Amen

Why do I serve? | Deanna George

S~ It does not, therefore, depend on human desire or effort, but on God’s mercy. Romans 9:16 (NIV)

O~ Human desire or service does not bring salvation. God’s mercy brings it. Mercy is compassion or forgiveness shown toward someone whom it is within one’s power to punish or harm.

A~ I can’t earn my way to God. What an awesome thing that God is willing to meet me where I am, and all he wants is for me to choose him, believe in him, and have a relationship with him. When I choose this, the desire to live a Godly life where I serve him and others is a byproduct of my love for him. It becomes a privilege to share God’s love to those around me through service, which is such a different feeling than feeling like I have to do it to earn God’s love and mercy.

P~ Lord Jesus, my desire is that I know you in such a way that you guide me to where I am to love others through service. I don’t want to serve to just serve because it’s the “right” thing to do. I want to serve because you called me to share your love and mercy. Please direct me to where you want me and need me. Thank you for your mercy so that I may serve for you freely.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on April 15, 2017, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

