April 12, 2017 Joshua 1,2; Psalm 37; Romans 7

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Discover One Thing Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Special scripture | Joni Tyner

S~ Let all that I am wait quietly before God, for my hope is in him.

He alone is my rock and my salvation, my fortress where I will not be shaken.

My victory and honor come from God alone.

He is my refuge, a rock where no enemy can reach me. Psalm 62:5-7 (NLT)

O~ David is grieving the actions of his prodigal son, Absalom.  He is turning to God for his comfort, his shelter in the midst of life’s heartbreak and uncertainty.

A~ Last Friday, I received a phone call from the jail.  Our son was calling to let us know that he had been arrested for a high speed motorcycle chase  after he failed to stop for a routine traffic violation.  I was once again plummeted in the fear, worry, anger and sadness that have frequented my life these past 8 years. I’ve been re-reading my old journals and trying to regain some sense of normalcy as I, once again, place this situation in God’s hands.   I’ve been hit and bruised, but I know my peace and hope are not shaken.   God is my refuge in this storm.

I went to a different church this morning. I’m not sure why, but I think I just needed to hear God without the distractions of knowing people and figuring out what to share when people casually ask, “how are you doing?”  Normally, I love people and interacting with other believers, but this morning, I just wanted to be held by my Savior.

It was so weird that I went to a different church to be anonymous and the sweet lady standing next to me impulsively gives me a hug and said, “I feel like I’m suppose to tell you to read Psalm 62.”

So I did. And it is salve to my broken heart.  It reminds me that God is my refuge and my hiding place through this storm.  His Word is where I will not be shaken. Not a typoHis Word is where I will not be shaken.

P~ Dear Lord, this morning I’m trusting You for these circumstances, that You will work all this crazy for Your glory.  Thank you for this encouragement this morning, I absolutely feel like You personally sat me in that seat to be reminded that You see me and are holding these tears that I cry.  I pray Your Holy Spirit relentlessly pursues Andy’s heart—that the truth that he has been taught and the love You have for him will completely unsettle him until he finds his way back to You.  I’m. trusting. You.

**Due to the sensitive nature of this post, I would appreciate discretion in sharing, if you feel someone could benefit from this post, perhaps contact me. Thanks. Joni

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on April 12, 2017, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

