April 10, 2017 Deuteronomy 31; Psalm 40; Romans 6:1-14

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Discover One Thing Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

My Daily Choice | Joni Tyner

S~ Do not let sin control the way you live; do not give in to sinful desires. Romans 6:12 (NLT)

O~ Paul is referring to believers. We can either be dominated (controlled) by the Holy Spirit or by our sinful nature.  We are all sinful, it is in us ALL.  It never, EVER goes away.  It is a daily battle for every believer to resist the tendency to drift and move farther away from God.

A~ Recently, our daughter was telling us about being at a friend’s house and how the parents frequently argue and say harsh words to one another.  She was upset about this and was comparing it to our home.  She concluded that people who go to “that church” aren’t really Christians because of their behavior.  My husband and I explained to her that we all have sinful nature in us and we need to make a  DAILY, sometimes HOURLY, conscious  decision to be filled with the Holy Spirit.  It isn’t an outward sign, (like being circumcised, see Romans 2: 25) or a specific denomination, it is making the choice to abide (be close, near) to God.   We talked about the fruits of the spirit: joy, peace, patience, goodness, kindness, gentleness, self-control, and not having the fruits of the spirit—the opposite of which are  anger, frustration, anxiety, impatience, harshness, rudeness, being impulsive. (this is my interpretation).  Our outward behavior is a sign by what is controlling us.

The notes in my Bible also identify ways to keep from being controlled by our sinful nature.

  1. Identify our personal weaknesses
  2. Recognize what tempts us. ( my comment—this is a BIGGIE!!)
  3. Stay away from what tempts you
  4. Practice self-restraint
  5. Invest our time in good habits and service
  6. Lean on God’s strength and grace

Also, I would add…be in God’s Word daily.  Journal to make it personal!!!

P~ Dear Lord, life can be such a constant battle.  I want to do the right thing, yet I fail, daily. 😦 Please continue to pursue my heart so that I “live” in the lifestyle of always being controlled by You.  I hate myself when I am controlled by the ugly nature of sin, I really do.  I pray you would give me an unending desire to be closer to You.  Thank you that when I fail, You are always there to take me back.  I love You.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on April 10, 2017, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

