April 9, 2017 Deuteronomy 29,30; Romans 5:6-21

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Discover One Thing Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

No Excuses | Kim Chipman

S~ Now what I am commanding you today is not too difficult for you or beyond your reach. Deuteronomy 30:11 (NIV)

O~ God (through Moses) is giving the israelites the terms of the covenant. He makes it clear that they have choices and choosing God’s way is for their good! He asks them to obey with all their heart and soul. Pretty sure He’s asking me the same 🙂

A~ I know that a lie I believe OFTEN is that whatever You are asking me to do is just entirely too difficult. Or not worth it or something. I’m a whiney Israelite! I’m not sure I’ve ever noticed this verse before but You make it pretty clear that You make a way for me to both know and do what You are asking.

promise: Jeremiah 29:13 You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.

Deuteronomy 30:14 No, the word is very near you; it is in your mouth and in your heart so you may obey it.

No excuses. Quit whining.

P~ Lord, thank You for this today. It’s like the smack upside the head I needed to quit my whining and justifying and just DO IT. Please help me to passionately pursue You. Stoke that fire that is inside me. I love You!

Obedience or Disobedience – What’s the Price? | Deanna George

S~ Consequently, just as one trespass resulted in condemnation for all people, so also one righteous act resulted in justification and life for all people.  For just as through the disobedience of the one man the many were made sinners, so also through the obedience of the one man the many will made righteous. Romans 5:18-19 (NIV)

O~  One man + one act = condemnation and sinning through disobedience, but

ONE MAN + ONE ACT = justification, life, and righteousness through obedience. 

A~ As a human on earth, I can wreck havoc on my life through my decisions, my acts, and my thoughts, but man o’ man it can be turned around because Jesus loved me enough to obedient and die on the cross. I know I am far from perfect and that my choices have consequences, but Jesus’ choice to be obedient gives me hope, a desire to be obedient, and the strength to ask for forgiveness. Which man do I want to follow? The one who chose obedience! Now it’s my turn to choose to be obedient to God in my actions, thoughts, and desires.

P~ Lord Jesus, thank you for pointing out to me today that obedience is vital to my relationship with you. This entire journey began with disobedience and you gave us life through obedience. Please help me keep this in the forefront of my mind. I need to be obedient in ALL things and not just the big things. I need to instill this in my kids heart as well. Please help me know how to teach them. Thank you for loving me and showing me what I need to work on. Please give me patience and peace when I choose to be obedient because I know I will doubt myself or try to take over. Thank you Jesus for being obedient so that I may have hope!

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on April 9, 2017, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

