April 8, 2017 Deuteronomy 27,28; Romans 4:16-5:5

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Discover One Thing Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Be Careful | guest post

S~ If you fully obey the Lord your God and carefully follow all his commands I give you today, the Lord your God will set you high above all the nations of Israel. Deuteronomy 28:1 (NLT) (emphasis mine)

O~ And carefully follow all his commands.  Seriously?  All of them?  Was this even possible?  Have you read through the law?!  When I look back over all that the Israelites had to do to make and keep themselves right with God, it appears impossible.  It was impossible!  But God still cautions us to be careful.  If you carefully follow…

Carefully (adv.):  exercising or taking care; marked by attentive concern or solicitude.

God warns the Israelites to exercise attentiveness in their actions.  He doesn’t want them to get into a routine where his commands can be done without thought or care.  He wants them to be concerned with their approach and the condition of their heart.

He wants the same for me.

A~ Because of Jesus, the OT law is no longer applicable to me.  But I believe God still wants me to carefully follow all his commands – His commands to love others well through the love He has given me, and to share the message of His son.

P~ Dear Heavenly Father, Thank you for your Word.  Please help me, Holy Spirit, to carefully obey my Father’s commands.  I love you. Amen

Faith like Abraham | Nikki Metzger

S~ Abraham never wavered in believing God’s promise.  In fact, his faith grew stronger, and in this he brought glory to God.  ~ Romans 4:20 (NLT)

O~ This long, awesome story was back in Genesis.  We don’t have a lot of day-to-day life details about Abraham’s life, but we do know that Abraham spent many years of waiting to have a son.

A~ When I read about Abraham, I don’t like reading a chapter that spans 20 years of his life waiting.  No one likes waiting, especially 20 years!!  I’ve always filled my head up with what Abraham did in those years of waiting.  And I always assumed that Abraham loved the Lord, but secretly gave up in having a kid with Sarah – they were so old!

I assumed this because Abraham had a child with Sarah’s maid, so maybe he really had given up.  But this verse tells me that I’m wrong. Abraham NEVER wavered in believing God’s promise that he would be a father to many.  This also says that Abraham’s faith grew stronger.  Can you imagine?  Year after year after year after year of unanswered pray, and Abraham’s faith grew stronger??

Well that brings glory to God.  The waiting?  What am I waiting for?

Two things I’ve prayed for, begged God for………..and I’m waiting, and waiting.  Still waiting. Does my faith look like Abraham’s in the waiting?  Is it growing stronger?  Am I bringing glory to God because I believe Him more today then when I started the journey?

Maybe I’m waiting because with these two things, I feel like I have some part in it?  Maybe I need to wait till there is nothing left in me and I know without a doubt if those prayers ever get answered, it’s all Good. Regardless, this waiting is for my faith to grow and God’s glory! That is never wasted!

P~ Father, even when there is no reason to hope for a change or a miracle, let me still hope that these two things can change and you will answer these prayers.  God, grow my faith in the midst of being patient and let me honor You.  I love You!  In Jesus’ Name I pray!

To Be Absolutely Convinced | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ He was absolutely convinced that God was able to do anything he promised.  Romans 4:21  (NLT)

O~ The notes in my bible:  Abraham never doubted that God would fulfill his promise.  Abraham’s life was marked by mistakes, sins and failures as well as by wisdom and goodness, but he consistently trusted God.  His faith was strengthened by the obstacles he faced, and his life was an example of faith in action.  If he and looked only at his own resources for subduing Canaan and founding a nation, he would have given up in despair.  But Abraham looked to God, obeyed him and waited for God to fulfill his word.

A~ I want to live like this.

P~ Dear Father, help me live like this, help my faith to grow and be strengthened by the obstacles I face.

I want your love! | Deanna George

S~ And hope does not put us to shame, because God’s love has been poured out into our hearts through the Holy Spirit, who has been given to us. Romans 5:5 (NIV)

O~ God’s love has been poured into our hearts! He gave us the Holy Spirit!! He knew I would need help. Boy is that true!

A~ I can’t help but be excited that God knows me so well that he knew I would need to feel his love, get help with my daily life, and have a constant source of hope and joy! I hear you Lord, and I accept your love! Keep pouring it on me!!

P~ Lord Jesus, thank you for your love. Thank you for your knowledge of me and what I need. Thank you for the Holy Spirit.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on April 8, 2017, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

