April 7, 2017 Deuteronomy 25,26; Romans 4:1-15

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Discover One Thing Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Strengthen my foundation | Deanna George

S~ What dies Scripture say? “Abraham believed God, and it was credited to him as righteousness.” Romans 4:3 (NIV)

O~ What did Abraham do? He believed! He trusted! His actions came from the heart. It wasn’t about who he helped, his ability to be “good,” or his ability to care for those around him. He was credited with righteousness because he believed in God, believed in God’s promises, and he trusted God. This belief was the foundation which he lived out his life.

A~ What is the foundation of my life? Jesus is the foundation, but sometimes that foundation cracks when it comes to the little things. I hold on tight to God when things go bad, but I try to “handle” the little things. I forget that he wants to be apart of all things. I need to let go and trust God. I need to strengthen my foundation in the little things so it is rock solid when big things or decision arise.

P~ Lord Jesus, please help me strengthen my foundation in you. I want my actions to be born out of my love and trust in you. Refine my heart so that I may be credited as righteous.

It’s All About Love | Kim Chipman

S~ Now to the one who works, wages are not credited as a gift but as an obligation. Romans 4:4 (NIV)

O~ v3 Abraham believed God, and it was credited to him as righteousness.

v5 However, to the one who does not work but trusts God who justifies the ungodly, their faith is credited as righteousness.

right·eous·ness /ˈrīCHəsnəs/ noun  1. the quality of being morally right or justifiable.

Usually we talk about righteousness as being right with God. This is saying the way to do that is by faith, not by works, because it is a gift not payment (obligation) for services rendered.

A~ This concept runs strong throughout Romans and is such a good reminder of where my heart needs to be. This isn’t a transactional thing but a relational thing.

The other day I disciplined one of my kids (for disrespect) by taking their phone away for the day. They could have it back the next day if they chose to be respectful. We had errands and things to do through the day – shopping for pants, a stop at the grocery store, a hospital visit to see a friend. We had a really nice day together, actually. I enjoyed our time together! It was a bonus that I saw her face instead of her forehead as she looked at her phone the whole time 😉

When we returned home she asked me for the phone back. I reminded her that I was keeping it until the next day, but what a great day we had! So fun. Her response? “That stinks. The only reason I was nice to you today was to get it back.”

Ugh.

How often do I have the same attitude with You? I’ll do what You want just to get what I want – but my heart’s all messed up about it. That’s not love and that’s what You taught me with my child’s comment. If my obedience obligated You to something it would be a transaction. But that’s not who you are or how this works. You want my heart, my love, my devotion…not just good behavior to get stuff like a vending machine. That isn’t love at all.

P~ Lord I DO love You! Help me to serve You from that place of love and faith. I believe You are sovereign and You love me. Help me to see those places in my heart that are not pure in my reverence of You, but are filled with selfish ambition.

A Woman Who Trusts God | Kelley Deases

S~  However, to the man who does not work but trusts God who justifies the wicked, his faith is credited as righteousness. Romans 4:5 (NIV)

O~ Have you ever been awed by someone’s ability to weather tremendous hardship yet hold tight to God’s promises? I have. Many times. I believe it is the mark of true faith, what God credits to us as righteousness, when people let us down, life doesn’t go as planned, and circumstances can seem bleak and hopeless, yet we decide to trust God with the outcome and cease from exhausting and futile gyrations and manipulations to try to make it different.

A~  One such person who has inspired me with her consistent faith through seasons of profound trial is my cousin’s wife. She married my cousin over twenty-five years ago, when the three of us attended college together. Over the years, I came to learn her father had left her family to pursue another relationship when she was young, causing deep wounds  and scars in his wake. Notwithstanding some rebellious and destructive behaviors as a teen, my cousin’s wife ultimately found her way to the church and to the Lord. She met and married my cousin, who had been raised in the church by Christian parents and himself was walking closely with the Lord. Theirs was a marriage and family built on a foundation of Christ. Two decades later, however, the ploys of the Enemy and the lures of the world began to creep in and entice my cousin away from his bride and his children in favor of isolation, selfishness, drinking and an affair. His wife found herself smack in the middle of another broken family. Her deepest wounds this time are the ones felt by her teenage and young adult children. So painful for her mother’s heart. Almost three years have passed since my cousin moved out, yet the ugly matters of the dissolution and division of assets still goes on. In the midst of all this, though, I have witnessed such strength and resilience in her, as she continues to make the hard choice to trust God with her life and in her kids’ lives. As with Abraham, her faith is surely credited to her as righteousness.

P~  Thank You for putting this lovely woman of God in my life all those years ago. We have journeyed through many ups and downs and she has been an invaluable friend, confidante, and sister through it all.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on April 7, 2017, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

