April 5, 2017 Deuteronomy 21,22; Romans 3:1-20

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Discover One Thing Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Unrighteous | Kelley Deases

S~ As it is written, “There is no one righteous, not even one.”  Romans 3:10 (NIV)

O~ Paul is using Old Testament Scripture to support his apologetics before the Roman church. Here, he reminds them (and us) of the universal truth, stated various ways and numerous times throughout the Bible, that we are all sinners.

A~ This brought to mind an episode from my past. It was several years after my first husband left our family and a season arose where we flirted with the idea of the possible reconciliation of our marriage. During and after the divorce proceedings, I had begun listening exclusively to Christian radio, mainly, at first, because pop, rock and country songs about relationships were simply to painful to bear. I shared with him a few songs and bands which were favorites of mine at the time. He particularly gravitated to a Caedmon’s Call tune, and specifically this lyric: “There is no one righteous, not even one.” Looking back, it’s as if he wanted to stress how everybody sins and everybody screws up — him, me, and everyone else. It seemed to make him feel better on some level for stepping out on his family and breaking his promises. But we are not meant to stop there, to wallow in our pathetic state along with the rest of humanity. As Paul urges, we are to put on the righteousness of God through faith in Jesus Christ to be justified and made right. It turned out, just as how our marriage had dissolved, sin and selfishness prevailed over earnestly seeking God’s blessing and guidance for our little family.

P~ Father, Years later, You brought me a humble and God-fearing man to be my second husband, for which I am grateful every day. But I ask You pierce the heart of my first husband. Help him step out of his sin and into Your righteousness. Help him desire a real relationship with You.

Don’t Need To Earn It | Kim Chipman

S~ Therefore no one will be declared righteous in God’s sight by the works of the law; rather, through the law we become conscious of our sin. Romans 3:20 (NIV)

O~ Galatians 2:16  know that a person is not justified by the works of the law, but by faith in Jesus Christ. So we, too, have put our faith in Christ Jesus that we may be justified by faith in Christ and not by the works of the law, because by the works of the law no one will be justified.

Acts 13:39 Through him everyone who believes is set free from every sin, a justification you were not able to obtain under the law of Moses.

Ephesians 2:8,9 For it is by grace you have been saved, through faith—and this is not from yourselves, it is the gift of God— not by works, so that no one can boast.

Romans 8:38,39 For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.

A~ This is something I know, but often forget. That is, I don’t have to earn your affections. By faith I am saved eternally and I can’t mess up enough to lose Your love. I can’t. I know I need to consistently do a heart check as to my motivations for what I do. I know I often am striving and seeking approval (from people and from You) or trying to earn Your love. I feel like I need to. My human brain can’t imagine how different You are. The things I do need to flow from a heart that desires to bring You glory. I’m free to love lavishly and without expectations when I am in that heart place. I can hear Your voice and passionately follow where You lead.

P~ Lord, help me to get my heart right. Help me to remember it is ALL about You, not me. Guide me so my life brings You glory. I love You!

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on April 5, 2017, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

