April 1, 2017 Deuteronomy 14,15; Romans 1:1-17

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Discover One Thing Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

My Mom | Kelley Deases

S~ Give generously to him [a poor man among your brothers] and do so without a grudging heart; then because of this the Lord your God will bless you in all your work and in everything you put your hand to.  Deuteronomy 15:10 (NIV)

O~ God wants us to be givers, as He is the Great Giver.  And He promises to bless us when we open our hearts and wallets to help those less fortunate.

A~ My mother is the most generous person I know.  Anyone who knows her would say the same.  Having come from poverty herself and now enjoying some prosperity in life, she has a keen radar always detecting ways she can bless her children, her grandchildren, her friends, or those in need.  She does not just give a card or a small token; she lavishes upon people.  She jokingly likes to say she has the “spiritual gift of shopping”……but, in truth, she keeps track of birthdays, anniversaries, special occasions, and times of hardship, making a point to give a gift, show up, write a note, or send a check to acknowledge, celebrate, or provide help and encouragement in some way.  Having the benefit of her example, I aspire to be generous with my own time and resources.  And am indeed moving in that direction.

P~ Father, Thank You for giving me Linda Springsted as a mom.  She epitomizes Your heart in the way she meets needs and lavishes love.

The Gift of Encouragement | Michelle Myers

S~ I long to see you so that I may impart to you some spiritual gift to make you strong–that is, that you and I may be mutually encouraged by each other’s faith. Romans 1:11-12 (NIV)

O~ I want to be encouraged by people’s faith. Yet, sometimes I am not. Instead, I sometimes want to run as far away from some “Believers” as I can, because their views, message, and actions are far from encouraging.

A~ I want to be encouraging to others. I wonder, at what times am I not? At what times, do people want to run away from me?

The spiritual and faith growing encouragement is different than the worldly encouragement of, “play the lottery consistently, and maybe you will be financially set some day”.

This encouragement allows me to trust in You, through ALL of my circumstances, and trust in who I am in You, regardless of
what people say or think about me.

UGH! This is not always easy to do, because it really does require me to pay attention to what I am thinking about, and why I am upset about something.

I am finding, that my lack of encouragement at times, isn’t necessarily that I don’t trust You, but more of a war with my flesh. I don’t want to give up my plans and my will. I also, certainly don’t want to be uncomfortable. Oh, and patiently waiting in discomfort, is definitely not something I enjoy or do gracefully.

P~ Thank you God for Your encouragement, which is so much more important and effective than mine or another person’s. Please help me see the blessings, that I need to see and find joy in the messy circumstances, so I can encourage other people with my faith.

I Need Community | Kim Chipman

S~  that is, that you and I may be mutually encouraged by each other’s faith. Romans 1:!2 (NIV)

O~ Paul wanted to visit the Roman people “to make you strong”. He went on to note that being together would be mutually encouraging.

A~ This is how I feel about my Bible study girls. I feel our time together is mutually encouraging. To see one of my sweet sisters act in faith and watch You move and work in her life is a beautiful thing and so very encouraging. Just because I facilitate does not mean I’m teaching anyone and they are students or something.

Being together is mutually encouraging.

P~ Thank You for my Jesus girls! They are such an encouragement to me. I pray our love for You and for one another would be evident to all. I love You!

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on April 1, 2017, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

