March 30, 2017 Deuteronomy 10,11; Acts 27

We have a new reading plan for 2017!! Get the printable: Discover One Thing Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Not Everyone Will See and Understand | Michelle Myers

S~ Remember today that your children were not the ones who saw and experienced the discipline of the LORD your God: his majesty, his mighty hand, his outstretched arm; the signs he performed and the things he did in the heart of Egypt……” Deuteronomy 11:2-3 (NIV)

O~ Not everyone is going to understand my relationship with You, or how I have experienced You in my life. That is OK. I just need to keep speaking about it, and serving You with it.

A~ My husband and I are the youngest couple in our small group. Everyone else, is anywhere from 10-20 years older. However, we have been married longer than half of them, who are on their second marriages due to divorce. I value their wisdom and life experiences. I think sometimes they think, that alone, has made them more spiritually experienced and more wise.

I had to really process through one of my beliefs the other day. One of the men in the group said that sometimes bad things just happen, and there is no reason for them. There is no purpose for it. There is no lesson that God is trying to teach us. We just live in a broken world, and junk happens.

This particular gentleman had battled cancer in his late twenties. This belief of his came from a book he was given during that time period. Now, he is around sixty, and although he says that he is able to empathize and help other people with cancer work through it, he doesn’t think that there was some higher purpose to him getting cancer.

I wasn’t really sure how to respond, but I didn’t necessarily like the way in which I did respond. I told him that I was always told that the bad, like cancer, came from the enemy, and that You allowed it for some higher purpose. Many times, it is supposed to help bring us closer to You.

I am not big on spiritual books, by human authors. I really try and rely on what Your word says and how I have experienced You in my life. Yet, my response didn’t reference Your word. It referenced other people. That was no different than him getting information from a human author.

I need Your help in knowing how to respond when these situations arise. I am not good at quoting Your word, remembering the exact scripture or where it is in the Bible, so I tend not to reference it too often. I also know that people’s values, experiences, and beliefs are not necessarily mine, so they are not going to understand why I believe what I believe.

My journey with You, has not always been one that has always been easy, clean, or what I wanted. Yet, I know in my heart that the enemy has one purpose, and You have another. I know that You are good. I know that You are sovereign.

P~ God, I am so thankful for your goodness and sovereignty. Please show this very nice man, that there is a purpose for the pain. It isn’t just misery. Please help me know how to respond, and give me the wisdom to respond in a way that glorifies and represents You.

Post It! | Tara Wiley

S~ So commit yourselves wholeheartedly to these words of mine. Tie them to your hands and wear them on your forehead as reminders. 19 Teach them to your children. Talk about them when you are at home and when you are on the road, when you are going to bed and when you are getting up. 20 Write them on the doorposts of your house and on your gates, 21 so that as long as the sky remains above the earth, you and your children may flourish in the land the Lord swore to give your ancestors. Deuteronomy 11:18-20

O~ Keep His truth so firmly in front of you that you cannot help but be constantly reminded of it!

A~ I used to keep a spiral of notecards with Scriptures on it in my purse, and place post-it notes all over the house. I’ve fallen out of this habit, relying on my phone and journal (where I keep lists of verses) more than anything. While these things are good and helpful, I need to return to POSTING these truths and keeping them handy in a way that I can share with my children.

P~ Lord, thank You for the reminder that Your word is not JUST for me – it’s for me to share often with my family! While we do devotions, and listen to Christian music and audio Bible apps, and worship and pray together, there is also something so helpful about having Your word set as physical reminders all around us. I want to get back to this!

God is the expert! | Nikki Metzger

S~ “Men,” he said, “I believe there is trouble ahead if we go on – shipwreck, loss of cargo, and danger to our lives as well.”   Paul in Acts 27:10 (NLT)

O~ Paul is talking to the ship’s officers about setting sail and where to stay for the winter.  I have to laugh because Paul is a tent maker by trade, also a preacher of the Good News.  He’s a traveled man, but not a seaman.  Why should Paul, a prisoner at the time, get a say in how and when the ship sets sail?

A~ I know God was directing Paul’s life, so I’m sure Paul sharing about sea travel was really the Holy Spirit talking.  And the Holy Spirit is really an expert on all things.  That’s the voice I need to be listening to all times.  I may be an expert in a few things, but God knows all and it’s His voice that I need to follow!

P~ Lord, thank You for Paul’s example!  Adjust my ears to hear Your voice!  I ask this in Jesus’ Name.  Amen!

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on March 30, 2017, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

