March 25, 2017 Deuteronomy 1,2; Acts 22

We have a new reading plan for 2017!! Get the printable: Discover One Thing Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

It Isn’t Just Going To Come To Me, I Have To Take It! | Michelle Myers

S~ See, I have given you this land. Go in and take possession of the land that the LORD swore he would give to your fathers—to Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob—and to their descendants after them. Deuteronomy 1:8 (NIV)

O~ You told Moses that it is time for the Israelites to advance, into the land that You had promised. They had stayed on the same mountain long enough.

A~ “Go in and take possession”- I have to be an active participant in obtaining what You have promised. This is Spiritual obtaining, such as the fruits of the Spirit. Love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self-control are not just going to come to me. I have to actively take them, by staying connected to You. When I don’t, I end up getting frustrated, letting my feelings dictate my words and actions, and then I blow it.

You “swore” to give these things to me. People may not follow through and do what they say they are going to do, but You are God. You follow through. I just need to be patient (which is something You promised I could do) and let go of my own fear, thoughts, and desires. I have to see the big picture, to the best of my ability, from a spiritual perspective.

P~ Thank you God for Your promises. Thank you for being a reliable source. Help me remain connected to You, so that I can be a good representative of You.

Don’t Look Back, Move Forward | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ Look! He has placed the land in front of you.  Go and occupy it as the Lord, the God of your ancestors, has promised you.  Don’t be afraid! Don’t be discouraged! Deuteronomy 1:21 (NLT)

O~ God wanted the people to receive and accept what he promised and put before them.  I need to receive what God has provided for me, with thanks, and move forward in what he has for me.

A~ Our financial class is going great! My husband and I are working together; we are making responsible choices, so why do I keep looking back?  Why am I harboring resentment, instead of moving forward in what God is doing? I don’t know, but I don’t want to stay here.

I will walk in trust and not lean on my own understanding. Instead of putting my thoughts about it I need to focus on your truth.

P~ Father, thank you for providing for us.  Thank you for what you are doing in our marriage, in us.

He’s fighting for me | Nikki Metzger

S~ The Lord your God is going ahead of you.  He will fight for you, just as you saw Him do in Egypt.  ~ Deuteronomy 1:30 (NLT)

O~ What do you picture when you read this verse?  Please, reread the verse.  What do you see?  I want your image of God fighting for you, ahead of you, preparing your path to be deep in your soul.  Call on this image of God fighting for you when you need it.  But remember, He is ahead of you and fighting for you every day, all day, since the beginning of time!  And He does it with as much passion as He did when rescuing the Israelites!

A~ This week, a sweet friend prayed a simple prayer of peace for my insanely busy week.  I’m busy, but this week was something beyond busy.   I’m completely OVERWHELMED with how God is fighting for me.  Every single day God has opened up hours of time so I could accomplish everything.  HOURS!  Every.single.day.

P~ Father, I am overwhelmed at Your love!  This is such a big deal in my heart!  THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU!!!  I Love You!   I thank You in Jesus Name!  (Do we do that?)

Changing Direction | Joni Tyner

S~ You have been wandering around in this hill country long enough, turn to the north.   Deuteronomy 2:3  NLT  (my emphasis)

O~ The Lord is speaking to Moses and the Israelites after their 40 years of wandering and going around the same mountain by telling them that this season is OVER!!! They have done this long enough, as new season is about to happen—they are to change direction and head north.

A~ I’ve journaled about this verse before.  When I first read it and soaked in the meaning, I wept.  I was in a constant state of grieving and fear over our son’s addiction and lifestyle choices. I was filled with sadness, depression and obsessed over trying to “save” him.  God gave me this verse that day—it spoke very clearly to me that my constant state of sadness and fear wasn’t His plan for my life.  I needed to really trust His plan and timing—that He loved my son more than I did. I realized that day I needed to stop micromanaging every piece of his life and trust God to care for him.

So, as I sit here morning, I do feel like I changed direction in that situation.  Although his addiction and the consequences that go along with that lifestyle are still very much a reality in my life, I don’t feel like I am stuck in the sadness  anymore.  Praise Jesus!!!

Today, as I read this verse,  I saw something else that I need to change direction with and “head north”.  I need to stop all the negative self-talk that I do to myself.  I just finished listening to Lysa Terkeurst’s book “Uninvited” on my phone.  I saw myself in so many of her examples.  Situations like frequently feeling alone in a room full of people. Or constantly thinking, “they don’t like me, no one wants to talk to me, I have nothing to offer.”  I question if I’m really fulfilling God’s purpose in my life and doubt my value and worth, especially with other people.  I realized by listening to Lysa’s book, and then by seeing this verse, that I need to turn and do things differently.  My tendency is to say that I won’t be successful because I’ve had these thought patterns as long as I can remember, (like grade school gym class)   OOPS!!!…I realize that just thinking that I won’t be successful is more negative self-talk! God is much stronger than this stronghold in my life and I really believe that His best for me is to eliminate this thinking and pursue thoughts are true and honorable and right and pure and lovely.   (Philippians 4:8)

P~ Dear Lord,  thank you for answering my prayer and releasing my patterns of worry, fear, and sadness over our son.  I continue to ask for Your hand of protection in his life and relentlessly pursue his heart. This morning I pray that I would see myself a little bit more like You see me, that I would see that I am loved and valued and made this unique way by You!  I desire to be a vessel for You in every area of my life, please help me be submissive to Your will and not sabotage Your best for me. Thank you for never leaving me.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on March 25, 2017, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

