March 19, 2017 Numbers 25,26; Acts 16

We have a new reading plan for 2017!! Get the printable: Discover One Thing Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Angry Feelings | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ Then the Lord said to Moses, “Phinehas son of Eleazar and grandson of Aaron the priest has turned my anger away from the Israelites by displaying passionate zeal among them on my behalf.  Numbers 25:10, 11a (NLT)

O~ Notes from my bible:

It is clear from Phinehas’ story that some anger is proper and justified.  Phinehas was angry because of his zeal for the Lord.  But how can we know when our anger is appropriate and when it should be restrained?  Ask these questions when you become angry: (1) Why am I angry? (2) Whose rights are being violated (mine or another’s)? (3) Is the truth (a principle of God) being violated?  If only your rights are at stake it may be wiser to keep angry feelings under control.  But if the truth is at stake, anger is often justified, although violence and retaliation are usually the wrong way to express it (Phinehas’ case was unique).  If we are becoming more and more like God, we will be angered by sin.

A~ From this I learn that it’s ok to be and get angry, but when I do ask myself where it is coming from, not just act on it.

P~ Father, help me not to stuff my feelings away, help me to accept and deal with them in a healthy way.

Praise You Always | Kim Chipman

S~ The jailer called for lights, rushed in and fell trembling before Paul and Silas. He then brought them out and asked, “Sirs, what must I do to be saved?” Acts 16:29-30 (NIV)

O~ Pail and Silas had been thrown in jail after a severe beating (for nothing, but that’s another story). While in prison they were praying and singing hymns to God and the other prisoners were listening. There was a violent earthquake and afterwards they jailer asked them how to be saved.

A~ For Paul and Silas, getting beating to a pulp and sitting in prison was probably not plan A. Especially since they didn’t really do anything to be there. Instead of doing what I would probably do – complain – they sang praise and prayed. They didn’t focus on their pain. They focused on You. Because of this other prisoners listened to the message of the Good News and the jailer asked how to be saved!

How do I have opportunities to tell people about You? I need to start by looking around. Whatever circumstance You put me in is opportunity to be a witness. I need to choose to give You praise no matter what! I’m kind of a whiner I think. No one is going to want to know my amazing God unless I have an amazing attitude. No one is going to care what I say unless I live a changed life!

P~ Lord help me to remember the example of Paul and Silas when my attitude goes south. Help me to praise You in every circumstance. I love You!

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on March 19, 2017, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

