March 18, 2017 Numbers 23,24; Acts 15

We have a new reading plan for 2017!! Get the printable: Discover One Thing Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

God’s Plan | Luisa Penaherrera

S~  By now Balaam realized that the Lord intended to bless Israel, so he did not resort to divination as he often did.  Instead, he turned and looked out toward the wilderness, where he saw the people of Israel camped, tribe by tribe.  Then the Spirit of God came upon him…   Numbers 24:1,2 (NLT)

O~ God is already doing a work in the world, his plans cannot be messed with.

A~ My life belongs to God and I will seek God in all things and look for how he is already working and join him in his work.

P~ Dear God, thank you for today.  Help me take my eyes off me and my issues and keep them on you and what you have for me to do.

A Heart Response | Joni Tyner

S~ God knows people’s hearts, and he confirmed that he accepts Gentiles by giving them the Holy spirit, just as he did to us. He made no distinction between us and them, for he cleansed their hearts through faith.  Acts 15: 8-9 (NLT)

O~ Paul and Barnabas are in Jerusalem teaching to a  group of new believers. Paul and Barnabas are disputing the practice of having the Gentile believers be circumcised.  They are adamant that all believers will be saved through  belief in Jesus—salvation is NOT achieved by doing ceremonial activities. (in this case circumcision)

A~ God knows my heart!

He gave the Holy Spirit to me.  His power lives in me!

My outward actions do NOTHING for my salvation.  They don’t make my prayers more effective, they don’t make God love me more.

My salvation (and everyone else’s) is a result of who God is! He gives undeserved grace to all who acknowledge Him in their hearts.

P~ Dear Lord, thank you for saving me.  I pray that my heart never forgets that it is a gift.  I love You and desire to live a life that reflects humility and gratitude.  Please forgive me for the times I’ve tried to earn Your love through doing things.  I do desire  to serve You—please help me to always remember that my actions are a response to Your love not a way to earn it.   I pray that my actions draw people to You.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on March 18, 2017, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

