March 9, 2017 Numbers 5,6; Psalm 22; Acts 8:1-25

We have a new reading plan for 2017!! Get the printable: Discover One Thing Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Who Am I Really Wronging? | Michelle Myers

S~ The LORD said to Moses, ‘Say to the Israelites: ‘When a man or woman wrongs another in any way and so is unfaithful to the LORD, that person is guilty and must confess the sin he has committed.’ Numbers 5:5-6 (NIV)

O~ Well, that is the big picture.  When I wrong someone else, I am also and more importantly, being unfaithful to You!

A~ It can be so easy for me to justify my words and actions, when I see only the person standing in front of me.  People are messy.  People are flawed.  People are fickle.  You are quick to remind me, that I am also a person, who is messy, flawed, and fickle. You however are not, and You love and cherish that messy, flawed, and fickle person, just as much as You do this one!  When I am not loving them and cherishing them, the way you would, through Your eyes, because my human eyes are flawed, I am really being unfaithful to You.

P~ Thank you God for giving me people in my life, who have seen me through Your eyes.  Please help me see people through Your eyes and keep my eyes focused on You, so I can remember that when I wrong another person, in any way, shape, or form, I am really wronging You.

Daily Instruction | Deanna George

S~ You who fear the Lord, praise him!
All you descendants of Jacob, honor him!
Revere him all you descendants of Israel! Psalm 22:23 NIV

O~ A What am I called to do as a child of God?
1.  PRAISE HIM
* Say thanks for all God has done for me.
* Tell God how awesome he is.
2. HONOR HIM
* Remember that I am a reflection of who he is. (Do my words and actions reflect  this?)
* Choose to spend time with him.
* Invite him into my daily life and routines.
* Put God 1st.
3. REVERE HIM
* Respect God and his guidance.
* Acknowledge his power, strength, and knowledge.
* Know my limitations and know he has none.
* Trust him and stop trying to control all things in my life. I am not enough, but he is    MORE than enough!

P~ Lord Jesus, today makes me smile. I’m so thankful that I get to freely praise and honor you. I take for granted that I have the privilege of loving you openly. I’m sorry when I don’t make time to include you in my day. I pay for it every time because I don’t get to feel your peace on those days, it’s harder to choose joy that you provide, and I get so much less accomplished. Thank you for the reminder that I NEED to actively praise, honor, and revere you!

My Own Heart | Kim Chipman

S~ You have no part or share in this ministry, because your heart is not right before God. Acts 8:21 (NIV)

O~ Peter and John went to Samaria to visit some new believers. They prayed over them and they received the Holy Spirit. Simon offered them money to have the power to do that also. Peter scolded him and redirected him. The only way to have the power of the Holy Spirit is to have your heart right before God. It cannot be bought (if only!) and it’s only for God’s glory, never our own.

A~ There are so many things in life that it would be awesome to hire out. I have a personal trainer, but she can’t exercise FOR me. I still have to do the work, darn it. I have to choose to eat healthy and push my body to get stronger. No one else can do that for me.

Same with my spiritual health. No one can do that for me either. I can’t buy it. I cannot share in the ministry of seeing You at work powerfully in others’ lives through me if I don’t do the work of getting my heart right before You. I need to sit here and soak in Your Word into my own heart and allow You to convict, heal, forgive, redirect, and guide me. I need You FIRST. For myself.

P~ Lord lead me, guide me, show me. Help me to see the areas in my heart that need to be adjusted to be right before You so You can use me. I love You!

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on March 9, 2017, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

