March 7, 2017 Numbers 1,2; Acts 7:1-32

We have a new reading plan for 2017!! Get the printable: Discover One Thing Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

There is no I in We | Deanna George

S~ Moses thought that his own people would realize that God was using him to rescue them, but they did not. Acts 7:25 (NIV)

O~ Moses went to visit his people, but he did not like what he saw. An Egyptian was mistreating an Israelite, so Moses went to the Israelites defense and killed him. He thought the Israelites would be thrilled with someone standing up for them.

A~ There have been to many times when I have stepped in and “helped” just to find that I made things worse. The one thing that always comes back to me is, “Did I seek God before I acted?” Every time the answer was “NO!”  I wanted to right a wrong. I wanted to give a piece of my mind. I wanted to do the project my way. I wanted to get it off my chest. I wanted the culprit to feel my pain. I wish it was easier for me to learn that “I” is not the answer. It’s a lesson that just keeps repeating. I’m doing much better when it comes to big issues, but man o man, I act too quickly on the little things. Unfortunately the little things can turn into big things very quickly.

P~ Lord Jesus, thank you for being willing to reteach me lessons so many times. I hear you! I need to stop and have a chit chat with you about what my reaction to a situation should be. I need to pay attention to the little tap on my shoulder when I start to act on my feelings. You give me the warning, but I don’t always acknowledge it. If it takes knocking me over to listen to you, then please do it. I want “us” to deal with the situation and no more “I.”

How Am I Responding? | Michelle Myers

S~ The next day Moses came upon two Israelites who were fighting.  He tried to reconcile them by saying, ‘Men, you are brothers; why do you want to hurt each other?’  Acts 7:26 (NIV)

O~ This piece of history is being told by Stephen, who is being persecuted for being a follower of Christ.  I am sure that Stephen is telling this part of history, in an effort to get the people to see how mislead and off track they have been, just like their ancestors. Shortly after this, they stone Stephen to death.  Killing the messenger seems to be their “go to response”, when something is said that they don’t like or agree with.

In response to Moses’ attempt at reconciling them, one of the Israelites pulls him aside, and in a passive aggressive way, reminds Moses of his short comings. The day before, Moses had killed an Egyptian.  After the Israelite points this out, Moses flees.  After forty years, an angel appears to him, and he is to begin the process of getting the Israelites released and out of Egypt.

A~ Not in either situation from these two different times in history, did the opposing people stop and examine their own behavior.  Moses was reminded of his junk, and Stephen was brutally killed.

The only way You are going to be able to change me, and the only way that I am going to make progress is to focus on myself.  Regardless of whether my opinion or lifestyle aligns with someone else’s, does not matter as much as if my words and actions towards them aligns with You.

P~ Thank you God for continually reminding me of my need to stay focused on myself.  Please help me treat people, in a manner that aligns with Your character. Please help me do this, even when I am getting stones thrown at me or my shortcomings are pointed out by others, who really don’t know me or You.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on March 7, 2017, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

