March 6, 2017 Leviticus 26,27; Acts 6

We have a new reading plan for 2017!! Get the printable: Discover One Thing Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Thrashing! | Michelle Myers

S~ If you follow my decrees and are careful to obey my commands, I will send you rain in its season, and the ground will yield its crops and the trees of the field their fruit. Leviticus 26:3-4 (NIV)

O/A~ Ha! So, this is how I get to where You want me to be and where I need to be? I have to follow your decrees and obey your commands? Who knew?…. (sarcasm)….Then in the right season, which is Your timing (not mine), there will be something good to come out of it? Ha! Sounds simple, so why is it such a struggle?

It is a struggle, because of the threshing. Leviticus 26:5 says, “Your threshing will continue until grape harvest and grape harvest will continue until planting and you will eat all the food you want and live in safety in your land.” The word “thresh” is a variant form of “thrash”. According to the on-line dictionary, thrash means to, “beat (a person or an animal) repeatedly or violently with a stick or whip; hit (something) hard and repeatedly; or to move in a violent and convulsive way”. Sounds pleasant….NOT!

I have come to accept that there is going to be thrashing in my life. I texted a friend the other day, about homeschooling my youngest daughter. I said that I was at peace with it. I knew that it was what You were directing me to do. However, I am sure that there will be days that I will be struggling with You, in regards to why You can’t make it easier or the girls more cooperative. Yet, I also realized, that I have that struggle with You in regards to every assignment You give me.

For me, the next step is accepting my thrashing, as an individual process that only You really know the purpose for and what the harvest is going to look like in the end. You are not a “one size fits all” God. The world will tell me what to do to avoid the “thrashing”. When the “thrashing” is happening, they will tell me it is because of something I did or didn’t do, that was wrong, sinful, or irresponsible. They will even tell me what the “harvest” is going to look like and when it is going to happen.

I have to stay connected to You. First, because the “thrashing” is painful, hard, and more than I can handle on my own. Second, so that I don’t “over think” the thrashing from a worldly perspective and miss the spiritual, eternal point of it all. The two seldom line up.

P~ Thank you God for helping me through the “thrashing seasons of my life. Please help me stay connected to You, so I can know Your decrees and commands. Then help give my fleshly, weak self, the strength to do them. Please help me see both the thrashing and the harvest from a spiritual, eternal perspective. When I view it through a worldly lens, it can seem like pointless pain. That is not good. That is not You.

Free | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ I, the Lord, am your God, who brought you from the land of Egypt so you would no longer be slaves.  I have lifted the yoke of slavery from your neck so you can walk free with your heads held high.  Leviticus 26:13 (NLT)

O~ God freed the Israelites from their slavery in Egypt, he has freed me(us) from my (our) slavery to sin.

A~ Before Jesus, I was a slave to sin.  Just like he lifted the yoke of slavery from the necks of the Israelites, he has done the same for me (for us) because he wants me to be free and walk with my head held high because sin no longer has a hold on me. I will still sin, but now I can find grace and forgiveness and power to walk in freedom from sin.

P~ Father, thank you for freeing me from the yoke of sin.

Nothing New Under the Sun | Kim Chipman

S~ ‘But if they will confess their sins and the sins of their ancestors—their unfaithfulness and their hostility toward me, which made me hostile toward them so that I sent them into the land of their enemies—then when their uncircumcised hearts are humbled and they pay for their sin, I will remember my covenant with Jacob and my covenant with Isaac and my covenant with Abraham, and I will remember the land. Leviticus 26:40-42 (NIV)

O~ In this chapter You lay out the reward for obedience and the punishment for disobedience. Some of the rewards are things I think we take for granted unless we don’t have them like rain in its season, crops, peace in the land and You walking among us. Punishments would include terror, diseases, defeat by enemies, no crops from the land, never satisfied, fear, and cities in ruins. The thing is, You talk about people refusing to listen and breaking stubborn pride. There is truly nothing new under the sun there! Your consequences were meant to draw them into humble repentant obedience. Again, nothing new under the sun.

A~ It seems crazy to me when I see it laid out why anyone would choose disobedience or pride. Except that’s me over and over and over again. In the moment the consequences are minimized in my head.

The great hope is that all You have ever wanted is for me to choose You. You always make a way for repentance and return. My study Bible says: “His purpose was not to destroy them, but to help them grow.” This is SO apparent to me about Your character. When I feel stuck, unlovable and unforgivable I can remember those things are not ture. You always make a way for me to humbly repent and return to You!

P~ Lord, help me to not stay stuck in feeling overwhelmed and unworthy. I might be those things, but worthy or not You make a way for me. I can always humbly come to You and You will always embrace me. So many lies keep me stuck. Help me to see them and replace them with truth. I love You!

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on March 6, 2017, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

