March 5, 2017 Leviticus 25; Psalm 25,26; Acts 5

We have a new reading plan for 2017!! Get the printable: Discover One Thing Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Boundaries | Michelle Myers

S~ But houses in villages without walls around them are to be considered an open country. Leviticus 25:31 (NIV)

O~ Boundaries are important. Without them, my life can be an “open country” for myself and for others. This isn’t what You want for my physical or mental health, my time, or my finances.

A~ Basically, I just need to listen to You and be obedient, when it comes to boundaries. What I want or feel like doing isn’t what is important, nor is it going to get me where I need to be or You want me to be. My mind has to be just as disciplined as my actions. I can waste so much time overthinking anything and everything. I get myself into a state of confusion. It is a huge energy and time waster. Clearly, it is a tactic of the enemy.

P~ Thank you God for continuing to show me where my boundaries need some re-enforcement. Please just continue to help me recognize it and You in it, be obedient, and just do it; without over thinking it, to the point that I am exhausted, a mental mess, and have wasted way too much time.

You Come Through For Me | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ Show me the path where I should walk, O Lord; point out the right road for me to follow.  Lead me by your truth and teach me, for you are the God who saves me.  All day long I put my hope in you.  Psalm 25:4,5 (NLT)

O & A~ This is a prayer for me today.

P~  Thank you Father that you hear me and see me.  I am thankful that I can pray this to you and know that will come through for me.

Engaging in the Activity of God | Tara Wiley

S~ My eyes are ever on the Lord, for only He will release my feet from the snare…Relieve the troubles of my heart, and free me from my anguish. Psalm 25:15, 17 NIV

O~ As I worked my way through this Psalm, I was struck by how many verbs were used to describe the activity of God: Instructs. Guides. Teaches. Forgives. Instructs. Confides in. Makes known. Releases. And then there’s the verbs David uses to ask God to act: Show. Teach. Guide. Remember. Don’t remember. Forgive. Turn. Be gracious. Relieve. Free. Look. Take away. See. Guard. Rescue. Deliver. I listed them in the margin of my Bible, then asked God what I needed to focus on – what I needed to hear – what I need to know… and landed on verses 15 and 17.

A/P~ Lord, our family is under some kind of physical attack right now – so much sickness, and now this bizarre eye infection. We need to be released – relieved – set free! I know You are the Healer. You have protected me from Mo’s latest cold, and for that I am SO incredibly grateful. Continue to protect my family from any new onslaught. We are getting ready to travel, and I just want us well! Lord, You know what this trip holds, better than we do. I’m asking You to help each of us heal so we can fully enjoy this family time together and return refreshed and ready to hit the last few months of hard work and ministry with renewed vigor. We have SO much on our plates right now, and I know our bodies are just crying uncle. Give us the supernatural strength we need to press through this intense season. Just three more months, Lord, and we will get to breathe a little easier. Carry us through. And most importantly, Lord, release, relieve, and set free anything in us that is hindering us from connecting fully with Your intention for our lives right now. Help us to be strong and brave and determined in our pursuit of You.

Unstoppable with God! | Joni Tyner

S~ Leave these men alone! Let them go! For if their purpose of activity is of human origin, it will fail. But if it is from God, you will not  be able to stop these men; you will only find ourselves fighting against God.  Acts 5:38-39 (NIV)

O~ Gamaliel is a respected Pharisee and is confronting the Sadducees about persecuting the apostles for teaching about Jesus.  Although he is probably not a believer, he does have the insight to realize that people will only have success when it is blessed by God.  He realizes that failure will naturally occur when God is left out of the equation.

A~ This past week we had a missionary from Senegal speak at our church. They were called to start a Christian school in an area that was almost 100% Muslim.  They faced hardship and persecution by the community.  At one point, the enrollment dropped to just 4 kids; they remained faithful to the purpose God placed in their hearts.  Slowly, they began to see a shift in the attitudes of the local people and people starting wanting their children to come to the school.  Today, I believe they have over 400 kids in the original school and are starting more schools so that more kids and their families can learn about Jesus.  I thought of this family when I read this passage because the only way they had success in this country was because God wanted it.  If it was only by their human effort, it would have failed.

P~ Dear Lord I thank you for the passion and commitment the Davis family has in the African country of Senegal.  I pray for Your continued hand of guidance and blessing in their ministry.  Open doors for them to share about this ministry so that more believers might have opportunity to have knowledge about this country.  I pray they receive the needed financial support it takes to open this new school.   I also pray they receive rest and renewed passion and purpose while on leave in the states.  I also pray that the seeds they have planted with the local community with grow and multiple Your Kingdom.   God, You. Are. So. Good.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on March 5, 2017, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

