March 4, 2017 Leviticus 23,24; Psalm 24; Acts 4

We have a new reading plan for 2017!! Get the printable: Discover One Thing Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

You Provide | Luisa Pehanerrera

S~ When you harvest the crops of your land, do not harvest along the edges of your fields, and do not pick up what the harvesters drop.  Leave it for the poor and the foreigners living among you.  I, the Lord, am your God.  Leviticus 23:22 (NLT)

O~ A shift from “mine is all for me” to “mine is from God and I should do what He says to do with it.

A~ As we make our budget and thing seem tight, I can get really tight with it, but I don’t want to have a “me, me, me” attitude or mindset even in this season.  I will trust that you will provide.

P~ Father, where am I living and using what I have all for me?  Change my heart and attitude about what is mine; it really isn’t mine…it came from you.  Help me balance for me and for others.  I love you.

It’s All His | Joni Tyner

S~ The earth is the LORD’s, and everything in it.

The world and all its people belong to him.

For he laid the earth’s foundation on the seas

And built it on the ocean’s depths.   Psalm 24:1-2 (NLT)

O~ God is the creator of the world and EVERYTHING in it!!

A~ The world is a big, BIG place—and if He knows every detail of the creation of the earth—from the ocean floor to the highest mountain to…and everything in between

I can trust Him with every detail of my life.

This passage makes me this about one of my new favorite songs by Skillet.  One of the lyrics I especially like is  “if You can know the stars in place, You can know my heart the same.”  Here is a music video of the song.

P~ This morning I have a renewed sense of Your majestic greatness.  Please keep that visual of You creating the ocean floor and all of those tiny details of the earth and seas, close to my heart.  Please bring this to my mind when I feel worried about my problems.  Thank you once again for the gift of Your Word.

Finding Truth, In a Fake World | Michelle Myers

S~ When they saw the courage of Peter and John and realized that they were unschooled, ordinary men, they were astonished and they took note that these men had been with Jesus.  But since they could see the man who had been healed standing there with them, there was nothing they could say. Acts 4:13-14 (NIV)

O~ Peter and John were described as unschooled and ordinary men.  I am sure according to the world’s standards, they were.  But because of their relationship with You, they were educated in depths and ways, most people would not be able to comprehend.  Because of who they were in you, there was nothing ordinary about them.

A~ The battle between the worldly facade and worldly people is an on-going one.  That is why it is so important that I remember who You are, and who I am in You.  Just because the world says something is great, necessary, important, etc.; doesn’t necessarily mean that, that is TRUTH.

Our oldest daughter’s orthodontist wanted to put tooth extenders on her teeth, so that her teeth would completely align and be the same length.  Insurance wouldn’t cover this, because it was completely cosmetic.  She has never had any cavities.  The health of her teeth is perfect.  It would have been an additional out-of-pocket expense.  For once in our lives, the money wasn’t the main issue.  It was the expectation of having fake, perfect teeth.  Her teeth were extremely crooked prior to braces.  She would often complain about chewing not being comfortable and biting different parts of her mouth.  Now, they are straight.  That is what we were looking for, not a perfect, fake smile.  That isn’t going to make her more, lovable, smart, or even comfortable at this point.  Also, as time goes on, the “fake” will wear down like everything else, and potentially end up costing her more and more as an adult to repair it.  We opted to not have this done to her teeth.  She can have it done as an adult, if she chooses.

Our youngest, who is in 8th grade, brought home a paper saying that she academically has met the requirements for Junior National Honor Society.  We were so happy and proud of her.   Even if she didn’t “get in”, as there was paperwork and a selection process that needed to take place, before she officially became a member, meeting the academic criteria was an honor.  The other morning she came to me, and said that she had a detention.  She had forgotten about an assignment, and was caught copying someone else’s. We never heard from the teacher about this matter.  I also could not find the teacher’s information to contact her, on the school website.  After some investigating, it became apparent that this wasn’t the first cheating incident, and she wasn’t the only one doing it.  Also, due to one test grade, her grade in this class dropped to a D.  We assumed that all of this would disqualify her for Junior National Honor Society.  NOPE!   She texted me from her friend’s phone, because hers has been taken away, and said that she got a letter saying that she “made it in”.  REALLY?!?!

Due to the fact, that she was already struggling with her self esteem and comparing herself to other girls her age, we were already questioning whether homeschooling her would be a healthier, better option at this point.  She, herself, thought that it would be.  The fact that I don’t honestly know what my daughter is truly capable of doing academically, and seems to be really be struggling with, and losing the battle in her head, in regards to what the world says her worth and value are, we decided that this was, indeed, the better route to go.

I have to say, that I struggled with letting her go to the JNHS reception.  My husband had to prompt me to really search my heart for what I knew was right and the truth.  The truth is, according to our standards, which we try very hard to align with what we think Yours are, I knew she shouldn’t be part of this.  At this point, I am not sure she truly earned it.

P~ Thank you God for giving my husband and me the strength and courage to do what we feel is right, as parents.  Please help guide us and give us discernment, as we continue on this very difficult journey, that often leads us struggling with Your values, versus the world’s values.  Please help our girls know the importance of truth.  Please help them develop the integrity needed to accept who You created them to be, without having to lie, cheat, or be fake to fit in.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on March 4, 2017, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

