February 26, 2017 Leviticus 11,12; Matthew 26

We have a new reading plan for 2017!! Get the printable: Discover One Thing Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Pray! | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ He went on a little farther and fell face down on the ground, praying, “My Father!  If it is possible, let this cup of suffering be taken away from me.  Yet I want your will, not mine.  Matthew 26:39 (NLT)

O~ As the time for Jesus to be crucified approached, he turned to God in prayer.

A~ I need to ask God for help and not live in fear, regrets or in the past.

P~  Father, please forgive me for being unforgiving, for holding on to things I can do nothing about.  Please help us with what we are facing.  Multiply our efforts and please provide.

It Must Happen in This Way | Vicki Burns

S~ “Put your sword back in its place,” Jesus said to him, “for all who draw the sword will die by the sword. Do you think I cannot call on my Father, and he will at once put at my disposal more than twelve legions of angels? But how then would the Scriptures be fulfilled that say it must happen in this way?” Matthew 26:52-54 (NIV)

O~ The disciples were ready to fight to protect the Lord. They did not realize that they had slept through the real battle in Gethsemane. There it was settled. It was written in the Scriptures. Prayer and the Word guarded and directed our Lord. So must it be with me.

A~ I have fallen so far from the daily discipline of reading my Bible. With sheer determination I fail. In my arrogance, I “feel” safe whilst forgetting how frail is my pitiful life. I can be gone in a moment or plunged headlong into a treacherous trial caught of guard and flailing.

P~ Lord, please deliver me from myself and my naive arrogance in taking Your Word for granted. I want to bear the storms of life with the strength and dignity of my Lord, having basked in Your glorious presence through prayer and Your Love Letter to me in Your Word so that I can hear it when I need to, that, “…it must happen in this way.” Teach me to fight my battles ahead of time in the throws of your love and exemplify Your peace and steadfastness in whatever storm may befall me. My sole desire is for Your glory in all things.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on February 26, 2017, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

