February 23, 2017 Leviticus 5,6; Matthew 23

We have a new reading plan for 2017!! Get the printable: Discover One Thing Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

A Present Day Grain Offering | Tara Wiley

S~ “Aaron and his sons shall eat the rest of [the grain offering], but it is to be eaten without yeast in the sanctuary area; they are to eat it in the courtyard of the tent of meeting. It must not be baked with yeast; I have given it as their share of the food offerings presented to me. Like the sin offering and the guilt offering, it is most holy. Any male descendant of Aaron may eat it… Whoever touches them (the food offerings) will become holy.” Leviticus 6:15-18

O/A~ “What’s more, you [followers of Jesus] are his holy priests. Through the mediation of Jesus Christ, you offer spiritual sacrifices that please God… You are royal priests.” I Peter 2:5, 9

“On the night when he was betrayed, the Lord Jesus took some bread and gave thanks to God for it. Then he broke it in pieces and said, “This is my body, which is given for you. Do this to remember me.” I Corinthians 11:23-24

Whenever I read through Leviticus, I am drawn to remember that the set-apart roles for the priests are part of my spiritual ancestry – because I am a priest, through Christ. That’s crazy to think about! But in moments like this one in Leviticus 6, the parallels are so breathtaking. The bread at the Last Supper – the first Communion – was unleavened, like the bread of the grain offering in Leviticus 6. And when I eat that bread, I am recognizing my identification with Christ, who makes me holy, just as the bread caused in Leviticus 6 made the priests holy. What a beautiful word picture of Christ fulfilling the law.

P~ Lord, You are so amazing, and Your word is so beautiful in its completeness! In Your wisdom and foresight, You gave so many powerful word pictures in the Old Testament of what You would come to do in the New. I am so grateful for Jesus’ perfect sacrifice which rescues us from a life of constantly shedding blood to make amends for our sin. You died once for all, so now I can live in You. And in You, I have become a part of Your royal priesthood! It’s incredible to consider that when I celebrate communion and take that bread and eat it, I am actually repeating an act done before You for thousands of years – an act YOU ordained to be a holy moment of worship and remembrance of Your grace. Thank You, Lord, for the awesome privilege of participating in Your story.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on February 23, 2017, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

