February 20, 2017 Exodus 39,40; Psalm 15; Matthew 20

We have a new reading plan for 2017!! Get the printable: Discover One Thing Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Humble Myself Even When It’s Not Fair | Kim Chipman

S~ So the last will be first, and the first will be last. Matthew 20:16 (NIV)

O~ This is the conclusion at the end of the parable of the vineyard workers. Some workers were hired early and worked all day long while others were hired later and only worked a short time. They all got paid the same. The parable represents salvation. The people who worked longer didn’t think it was fair they all got paid the same. The conclusion? So the last will be first, and the first will be last.

Sorta confusing.

A~ I usually have my quiet time early in the morning, in the dark, in the quiet. Today that did not happen and quite honestly it’s been a rough day. One of the tough parts was a parenting situation that has left me drained and frustrated. So I came to Your Word thirsty. Thirsty for Your direction, Your peace, Your wisdom. While I don’t get this as the conclusion to this parable really, I DO get it as Your words directly to my heart.

How hard I work doesn’t matter. I need to maintain a heart posture of humility. Choose humility even when nothing seems fair or right. Trust Your Sovereignty. Humble myself. When relationships are hard: humility.

P~ Lord, my home feels chaotic today and that makes my heart feel messy, too. Thank You for this reminder that even when things may not look fair or right, and when relationships are strained and difficult, my priority is to remain humble before You in trust. Help me to do that. I love You!

Let Go and Let God | Deanna George

S~ What is it it you want?” he asked. She said, “Grant that one of these two sons of mine may sit at your right and the other at your left in your kingdom.” Matthew 20:21 (NIV)

O~ The mother of James and John came to Jesus and asked him to give them special positions in heaven.

A~ Sometimes it is so hard for parents to let go and let God do the work in our children’s lives. Right now, I am working on this in a very real way. My oldest, who is a senior in high school, is in the process of figuring out the next step of his future. My prayer has always been for God’s will to be prevalent in his life and for God to make it abundantly clear to him. My heart desires this with so much intensity that I want to help him see and hear God’s voice. I can’t do it. This is between him and God! Boy is that hard for this mama’s heart! It is really hard when my son’s desire for the school he wants to attend may not be God’s will for him. The emotions I feel when I see the possible disappointment and frustration I see him have is so hard on me. I want his dream to come true, BUT only if it is God’s will. That is the desire of my heart, but that doesn’t mean it is easy emotionally for me to see him work through it with God. Through this process, I a trying so hard to fight my flesh and let go and let God work.

P~ Lord Jesus, my boy is in your hands. I don’t not know the plans you have for him, but I do know that they are perfect for him. Please open his heart, mind, and spirit to hear you as he seeks you. Please help me to be supportive through this process. Direct me in my actions, words, and guidance so that it complements your will for his life. I know he is a gift on loan from you, so be with me as I navigate the process of letting him go!

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on February 20, 2017, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

