February 16, 2017 Exodus 33; Psalm 16; Matthew 16

We have a new reading plan for 2017!! Get the printable: Discover One Thing Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Save Me From Myself | Michelle Myers

S~ What else will distinguish me and your people from all the other people on the face of the earth?  Exodus 33:16 (NIV)

O~ This was a question that Moses asked God, while he was leading the Israelites.

A~ The way that I carry myself, is supposed to distinguish me from the rest of the world.  This is not because I am better, but because I have a relationship with You.  It is because of that relationship, I am able to be more loving, kind, and gracious with my thoughts, words, and actions.

Do my thoughts, words, and actions, as well as my overall being truly and authentically display a sense of peace?  Do I do things that distinguish me from the rest of the world, and represent my relationship and connection to You, as the main, supreme being in my life?

Sometimes…………Not as often as they should…………..Not with everyone…………..Not without my connection to You.

The people that I struggle the most with, in regards to this, are first my daughters and second my husband.  Yet, as I stood in line at the store the other day and watched a family ahead of me, I really had to “fight” with criticism, and judgment.  I had to really rely on you, to help me counter each not so loving one, with something positive, gracious, and loving.

They weren’t that clean of a family.  They smelled pretty bad.  They didn’t seem to be very educated.  Blah, blah, blah…..

Here is what You showed me…..

THEY are just as much YOUR children.

They were patient and polite.

The empty Lunchable container that they had the cashier ring up, was empty because the one-year old son got hungry in the store.  They took care of his need.  I have seen people who have not done that. Instead, they have yelled, cussed, or even spanked a one-year old for not “behaving” in the store or for being a pain in their bottom.

They paid for the Lunchable. Heck, they were paying for all the items they got.  There are really people who don’t that.

I need that connection with You, so You can help keep me humble. You can point out the good in other people, and the yuck in me.  On my own, I will easily become like some of the other Christians, that I really don’t like too much.  You know, the ones who ignore their own yuck or act like it doesn’t stink just as bad as someone else’s.

P~ Thank you God for helping me, while I was in line the other day.  On my own, I am not a good representative of You.  On my own, I can easily forget my own yuck or deceive myself into thinking that it isn’t as raunchy as someone else’s.  On my own, I can easily become one of the snobs, that I just don’t like.  Please help save me from myself!

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on February 16, 2017, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

