February 13, 2017 Exodus 27,28; Matthew 13

We have a new reading plan for 2017!! Get the printable: Discover One Thing Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Sitting With You First | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ To those who are open to my teaching, more understanding will be given, and they will have an abundance of knowledge. But to those who are not listening, even what they have will be taken away from them.  Matthew 13:12 (NLT)

O~ Wisdom and knowledge come from you, from living life the way we were created to in the first place.

A~ This morning I kept thinking about the stuff on my to do list, and I wanted to get going on it.  This verse reminds me where wisdom and understanding come from and that I need to stay connected to you.

P~ Father, help me be still today and hear your voice.

I’m of great value! | Nikki Metzger

S~ Again the Kingdom of Heaven is like a merchant on the lookout for choice pearls.  When he discovered a pearl of great value, he sold everything he owned and bought it. Matthew 13:45,46 (NLT)

O~ Jesus is speaking in parables.  In this one; Jesus is the merchant, I’m the pearl of great value.  Jesus left heaven and bought me.

A~ I don’t always view myself as having value or being as precious as a great jewel.  But this parable tells me that I’m wrong.  Jesus was, and is on the look out for me.  He paid it all for me.  He sold everything and bought me.  I really am of GREAT value!

P~ I love You Lord!!

Joyfully Sell All You Have and Buy | Vicki Burns

S~ The kingdom of heaven is like treasure hidden in a field. When a man found it, he hid it again, and then in his joy went and sold all he had and bought that field. Again, the kingdom of heaven is like a merchant looking for fine pearls. When he found one of great value, he went away and sold everything he had and bought it. Matthew 13:44-46 (NIV)

O~ This exchange requires E V E R Y T H I N G…for the value of the kingdom is everything and so much more! Values matter. We are identified by what we value. We must value the kingdom of heaven as an immense treasure or costly rare pearl. It may cost us everything so we should be ready to sell it all. All.

A~ I read this and ponder what I value. I treasure my husband, children, grandchildren, friends, family. I value a safe dwelling, a reliable vehicle, good healthy food. The question is…”Would I surrender it all…A L L for the kingdom of heaven?”

P~ So here it is again…a time to count the cost. Instead of focusing on the pain of loosing E V E R Y T H I N G, Father, help me see the kingdom of heaven as it is in truth: T H E most magnificent E V E R Y T H I N G we could ever dream of! We, after all, were made for You and everything else is a poor substitute.

Faith Gives Vision | Kim Chipman

S~ And He did not do many miracles there because of their lack of faith. Matthew 13:48 (NIV)

O~ The people of Nazareth, where You were raised, had a hard time believing. Their lack of faith caused them to miss it – big time. They couldn’t put together Your miraculous powers with You just being the carpenter’s son. You didn’t reveal the fullness of Your power because of it.

A~ What about me? Where in my life am I putting You in a box? Where am I missing seeing miracles because I don’t have the faith to see? I believe, but help my unbelief! I want to see You, grow my faith!

P~ Oh Lord, I love You! I need You! Please help me. I don’t want to miss a thing.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on February 13, 2017, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

