February 7, 2017 Exodus 17,18; Matthew 7

We have a new reading plan for 2017!! Get the printable: Discover One Thing Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Oh, Ye of Small Faith | Robin Laney

S~ And he called the name of the place Massah and Meribah, because of the quarreling of the people of Israel, and because they tested the Lord by saying, “Is the Lord among us or not?” Exodus 17:7 (ESV)

O~ The people are blaming Moses because they are without water to drink. They were angry that he would bring them out to the wilderness to die. Their anger and blame was misplaced because their faith in a sovereign God who loved them and had just saved them was lacking.

A~ How small is our faith in matters of politics these days? We have a sovereign God who is, even over government.

P~ Father, thank You for this reminder today. It brings peace and sanity to my heart and mind.

Teammate | Deanna George

S~ When Moses’ hands grew tired, they took a stone and put it under him and he sat on it. Aaron and Hur held his hands up – one on one side, one on the other – so that his hands remained steady till sunset. Exodus 17:12 (NIV)

O~ Moses need to keep his hands raised to win the battle against the Amalekites. He could not hold his arms up alone. He needed support.

A~ This support goes two ways. I need to be willing to receive support, and I need to be willing to give support to my family, friends, and leaders. Sometimes it is so hard for me to accept help from others. I tend to believe a little lie from Satan that if I get help then that means I am not good enough, I’m not capable, or that I am weak. Even though I know that it is not true because God is providing the help through people, it is still a battle that rages in my head. God placed Aaron and Hur on the hilltop so they would be willing and ready to help. Moses accepted the help and as a team, they won! I need to remember that God is providing me with teammates. It is up to me to be part of the team. Being part of the team goes two ways: receiving the help and giving the help. Not only do I need to be willing to ask for and accept help, I also need to be proactive to give help to my teammates in life. It is my responsibility to help others with encouragement, prayer, and physical help when needed. Aaron and Hur helped their leader. Am I helping my leaders? Am I encouraging my pastors, my kid’s principals, my husband, or my parents? The answer is no! I am not being the best teammate that God called me to be.

P~ Lord Jesus, please forgive me for being an average teammate. I am failing at providing the basic skill of encouragement to my husband, my parents, my kid’s principals, my pastors, and public servants. Please instill in me a burning desire to encourage my leaders. Their roles are hard, and they need to know I’m thankful! Please continue to speak the truth to me so that I may battle Satan’s lies and freely accept the help others offer me. You have placed so many wonderful people in my life, and for that I am truly grateful. Please help me be the best teammate I can be.

A Log in my Eye | Joni Tyner

S~ And why worry about a speck in your friend’s’ eye when you have a log in your own?  How can you think of saying to your friend, ‘Let me help you get rid of that speck in your eye’ when you can’t see past the log in your own eye?  Hypocrite! First get rid of the log in your own eye; then you will see well enough to deal with the speck in your friend’s eye. Matthew 7:3-5  (NLT)

O~ This scripture is in red—which means these are Jesus’s words and teaching.  He is pointing out that many people are worried about what their friend/neighbor/coworker is doing and they need to be dealing with their own stuff.

A~ It is so easy to see other people’s mistakes and sin and yet be oblivious to my own stuff.   It is likely pride that is my sin if I start worrying about “this person doing that” or they should be _________ (going to church, not swearing, giving to missionaries, etc.)  I believe that God is big enough to notice and handle/punish other people’s sin, He doesn’t need me to micro manage and get involved.  My assignment is to love people well and leave the consequences of their sin up to God.  He is much smarter than me , after all He created the standards for us to all follow.

P~ Dear Lord, install wisdom into my bone marrow. Help me to encourage and not always point out people’s sin.  I pray you’ll use me to build people up and make them hungry to know You.

House On the Rock | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ Anyone who listens to my teaching and obeys me is wise, like a person who builds a house on solid rock.  Though the rain comes in torrents and the floodwaters rise and the winds beat against that house, it won’t collapse, because it is built on rock.  Matthew 7:24,25 (NLT)

O~ Jesus is my rock.  The rains will come, the floodwaters will rise, and the winds will beat against me, but I won’t collapse because I have Jesus.

As I trust Jesus and stay connected to my rock, I will be able to stay standing with all the trials and challenges life throws my way.

A~ I need to continually keep my eyes on him and trust him.

P~ Dear Jesus, you keep me steady and strong.  Thank you!

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on February 7, 2017, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

