February 3, 2017 Exodus 10,11; Matthew 3

We have a new reading plan for 2017!! Get the printable: Discover One Thing Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Deep, deep dark | Nikki Metzger

S~ During all that time the people could not see each other, and no one moved.  But there was light as usual where the people of Israel lived.  Exodus 10:23 (NLT)

O~ Can you imagine such a thing?  God is displaying His power to the Egyptians through plagues and then He sets a deep darkness over Egypt.  I’m guessing this deep darkness was WAY different than night time because people couldn’t see each other and they just stayed in one spot.  I wonder if candles even worked in those three days?  I bet they didn’t.  Then to top it all off, there was light where God’s people lived!

A~ The only time I like dark is when I’m sleeping.  I’m the one who turns on all the lights in the house so it’s really bright.  I LOVE THE LIGHT!  Light brings me peace, it lights up my task at hand so I can accomplish something.  I’m also able to see clearly.  This is just from artificial light and light from the sun.

In John 8:12, Jesus says, “I am the Light of the World.”  Light from the Son is what I want to be under!

P~ Father – thank You for Your light, for Jesus!  Thanks for taking me out of that deep, deep darkness and shining Your Light into my heart!

Winnowing | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ He is ready to separate the chaff from the grain with his winnowing fork. Then he will clean up the threshing area, storing the grain in his barn but burning the chaff with never-ending fire. Matthew 3:12 (NLT)

O~ A picture came to mind when I read these verses, of Jesus doing just that but in me, separating the chaff (the lies) from the grain (the truth). Cleaning up the threshing area (my soul) and storing the grain in his barn (my heart) and burning the chaff.

A~ I just think of how my life used to be and how it is now with Jesus and I am so grateful for all you have done for me.

P~ Thank you Jesus.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on February 3, 2017, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

