February 2, 2017 Exodus 8,9; Matthew 2

We have a new reading plan for 2017!! Get the printable: Discover One Thing Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Only One Rescuer | Tara Wiley

S~ “But the magicians did the same things by their secret arts; they also made frogs come up on the land of Egypt. Pharaoh summoned Moses and said, “Pray to the Lord to take the frogs away from me and my people…” Exodus 8:7-8 NIV

O~ The magicians could cause the torment of frogs, but only GOD could remove the torment. Only God could rescue.

A~ In all the times I’ve read the stories of the plagues, this never struck me before. In several of the plagues, the magicians were able to replicate the onslaught, but not once were they able to stop the torment of the plagues. Satan (and his cohorts) can perform supernatural signs. He can disguise himself as an angel of light and appear even to do good. But ONLY God can rescue. ONLY God can redeem. ONLY God can set us free from torment. Satan cannot ever replicate that.

P~ Lord, I worship You as the ONLY redeemer and rescuer from torment. All the world (the enemy) has to offer are temporary fixes that may seem amazing but offer no lasting relief. God, forgive me for the times I lean in towards the temporary fixes of the world instead of pressing into You. You are the One who brings relief from torment. Oh, I have friends who are so strongly entangled in the torment the enemy brings! Lord, bring true rescue and redemption in their hearts and lives.

Stay Focused | Kim Chipman

S~ But when Pharaoh saw that there was relief, he hardened his heart and would not listen to Moses and Aaron, just as the Lord had said. Exodus 8:15 (NIV)

O~ It looked as if Pharaoh was going to let the people go, but every time there was a break in the plagues he hardened his heart and refused.

A~ Discomfort/suffering has a way of getting my attention. I see myself in Pharaoh. I get less focused, less attentive to Your voice when I’m comfortable. When the pressure’s off.

I don’t want to be that way.

P~ Lord, help me to remain focused and serious about my walk with You. Help me not to be deceived when things are going well. I know the spiritual battle is still raging. I love You!

Accepting My Limitations | Michelle Myers

S~ ‘But I have raised you up for this very purpose, that I might show you my power and that my name might be proclaimed in all the earth.’ Exodus 9:16 (NIV)

O~ This is YOUR show.  It is ALL about YOU, YOUR POWER, and YOUR Name.

A~ You sent Moses to Pharaoh time after time, and each time the result was the same.  Pharaoh refused to let the Israelites go……… even after so many destructive and painful plagues……….even after he repeatedly said that he would.  Why didn’t he?  Because YOU made his heart hard.

Moses did his part and was obedient.  He kept going back to Pharaoh.  He kept persevering.

Lately, I have noticed how much I have this really bad habit of assuming, and YOU know what they say about assuming.  I fall for the trap of believing, that the result or outcome of one experience is automatically going to be the same for all the similar experiences that follow.  I often think, “This is how it was last time.  This is how it will be this time.  It won’t ever change.”

However, You have been surprising me.  As I learn lessons from my experiences, continue on with doing the best I can, and accepting the situations that You have given to me, things are less and less turning out the way they did before, the way I expected them to. It is really confirming and affirming some truths for me.

I really don’t know as much as I like to think I do or other people would like to think that I do.

I have so little control over some of the circumstances of my life and this world.

You are IT, THE ONE, THE SOVEREIGN, THE ALMIGHTY, THE CONTROLLER, ………..

I am completely at YOUR mercy.

You decide the outcome of a situation, not past experiences or results.

P~ Thank you God for making this most recent experience with a tooth crown, a much less painful one, both physically and financially.  Thank you for guiding me to a good dentist.  I can often struggle with defensiveness and people’s dissatisfaction with me, when circumstances beyond my control take place.  Help me accept my limitations as a human being, even when others have not.  Please help me remember that “You and I are good”, even if my relationship with another person isn’t good at a particular time.  Please help me take each experience as a new one, and not let my feelings, thoughts, and fears take over and take me to a place of thinking I know what is going to happen, what will result, and that change isn’t going to take place.

Winnowing | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ He is ready to separate the chaff from the grain with his winnowing fork. Then he will clean up the threshing area, storing the grain in his barn but burning the chaff with never-ending fire. Matthew 3:12 (NLT)

O~ A picture came to mind when I read these verses, of Jesus doing just that but in me, separating the chaff (the lies) from the grain (the truth). Cleaning up the threshing area (my soul) and storing the grain in his barn (my heart) and burning the chaff.

A~ I just think of how my life used to be and how it is now with Jesus and I am so grateful for all you have done for me.

P~ Thank you Jesus.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on February 2, 2017, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

