January 28, 2017 Genesis 49,50; Psalm 8; John 18:15-40

We have a new reading plan for 2017!!

Get the printable: Discover One Thing Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

It’s All Good in God’s Hands – Robin Laney

S~ As for you, you meant evil against me, but God meant it for good” Genesis 50:20a (ESV)

O~ Joseph’s father had just died and his brothers, who had sold him into slavery so many years before, were afraid that without their father’s protection Joseph would surely pay them back for what they had done. Joseph certainly was in a position to make their lives miserable and they, without a doubt, deserved punishment. When they came and bowed down before him, he wept. His response was a beautiful picture of mercy and grace. He recognized that it was not his place to dole out justice upon them. Not only did he not exact revenge but he also poured out grace over them in the form of a promise of future provision. He forgave them, he did not ask for repayment (as if they could ever repay him to begin with), and he loved them well even though they did not deserve it. All because Joseph knew that God’s hand was in it all. He recognized that the evil that befell him was used by God for good. His faith in a sovereign God and his ability to see His work in the midst of tragic circumstances enabled him to have a Godly response towards his brothers.

A~ This morning, before I read the Scripture portions from the reading plan, I asked God to show me, over the next week, what He wants me to know before leaving for Thailand and Cambodia. He has given me the opportunity to go on a vision trip with our church and my prayer has been that He would equip our team for the journey He has us on. As I began to read, I was immediately grabbed by this story and particularly Joseph’s response to a great hardship in his life.

I have to be honest, this wasn’t exactly the kind of verse I was looking for as I leave my family for 13 days and travel halfway around the world to countries and cultures so different than my own. I suppose I was looking for verses that affirmed my participation or encouraged me to be bold and sure of my purpose, maybe adjustments in my attitudes, words, and actions. This one seemed, at first, to be more like a heads up that bad things could happen. As I mulled it over throughout the day, I became more and more thankful to God for reminding me of this verse and Joseph’s story. Such a beautiful reminder that God has our backs against the enemy who would seek to disrupt this trip. I have found victory in this verse before in the smallest issues and in really big things. God has a plan and a purpose and it will not be thwarted by a slimy snake. Whatever the enemy throws at us will be used for good for the sake of the Kingdom and people’s salvation. God used Joseph’s brothers’ evil actions, ultimately, to save them and their people from death. I have no doubt at all that any disruption, distraction, or delay will be used of God for good. I look forward to having my eyes open to His saving work.

P~ Father, in this world there is hurt and offense, betrayal and unfairness, hate and anger. I want to respond well when it comes on me. I am so thankful for the mercy and grace You have given me and I want to respond in kind to those who might hurt me. You are a God of justice and are faithful and so I trust You with any evil plans against me. I know that You make all things work together for good. Please give me eyes to see Your work in the midst of any hard circumstances that come my way.

Use Me | Deanna George

S~ You intended to harm me, but God intended it for good to accomplish what is now being done, the saving of many lives. Genesis 50:20 (NIV)

O~ Joseph is telling his brothers that he is not going to retaliate for selling him. He knows that it was part of God’s plan.

A~ Joseph’s faith during his entire life is awe inspiring. He was able to look at the big picture and not get caught up in his immediate circumstances. I’m sure it was hard mentally, but he turned to God for comfort. I want to have that faith and trust that God is using my circumstances for his good. I don’t want my life to be in vain. I want to follow God’s directions so that his plan for my life comes to fruition. I want to be able to look beyond the immediate circumstances and see God’s hand in it.

P~ Lord Jesus, I want the faith of Joseph! I want to seek you always and not get caught up dwelling on my issues. I want my life to be used to further your message. I want to be able to forgive like Joseph did. I really need help with this, and I haven’t even had anyone hate me so much that they wanted me dead! My issues seem so small compared to what Joseph endure, but they still impact me. Please use my circumstances and me to further your kingdom.

Fight with Truth | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ What is man that you should think of him, the son of man that you should care for him? For you made us only a little lower than God, and you crowned us with glory and honor.  Psalm 8:4,5 (NLT)

O~ These verses remind me who I am and whose I am.

A~ This morning I woke up feeling terrible about myself.  I have been struggling with guilt and feeling like a failure and I realized the enemy is all over that so I took a stand and reminded him with these verses who I am and whose I am.  Go away Satan!

P~ Father, thank you for loving me so. Thank you for making me yours. Thank you for your truth.

I Play a Part in the Yuk of This World | Michelle Myers

S~ ‘You are not one of the disciples are you?’ the girl at the door asked Peter.  He replied, ‘I am not’ John 18:17 (NIV)

O~ Deceit is a powerful weapon for the enemy.  First, Peter was deceived, in regards to his willingness to remain loyal to Jesus, when the junk hit the fan.  Then, he tries to deceive those who associate him with Jesus, by denying his discipleship.  That is why I have to remember the truths about……

–who You are

–who I am

–who other people are

–who I am in You

–who other people are in you

A~ My husband meets with fellow sex addicts on Saturday mornings for breakfast.  This is a group of Christian men, who support and hold each other accountable in managing their recovery and staying sober.  During the campaign, many of the conversations turned political.  As my husband listened, he was became very disheartened about all the finger pointing at different politicians, groups of people, etc.  One guy exclaimed, “And they are what is wrong with this world!”  My husband thought, “Really??!! We are all sitting here, on a Saturday morning because we struggle with having healthy sexual relationships and boundaries.  I think that would play a part, in what is wrong with this world.”

After the swearing in of President Trump, my husband said  to me, before his meeting with these gentlemen, “If it starts to get political, I am going to remind them that we were here to talk about our addictions.  Tell them to call, when they decide to get back to that. Then I am going to excuse myself.”  Fortunately, he didn’t need to go that route.  According to him, the only comment that was made, was by one gentlemen who said, “I can’t wait for Trump to make America great again!”

I realized at that point, that their focus was all wrong.  Then I started to connect it to areas of my own life, where my focus is all wrong.  First, I don’t care who was elected, no one person is going to “Make America great again”.  Second, to many groups of people, America was never great to begin with.

Right now, my daughter is studying Native American history, after the the settlement of white men.  To give her a good visualization of what Native Americans went through, I had her watch, “Bury My Heart at Wounded Knee”.  She was horrified at the treatment of the native people.  I bet they didn’t think of it as, “America The Great”  This was just one of many things, my history books didn’t adequately or truthfully represent, when I was in school.  Much of it was deceit by omission, but it was still deceit.

I get the feeling that many people are placing their hope in one human being or a select group of human beings, and they are going to be sorely disappointed in the end.  If they aren’t disappointed, much of it is going to be because they will deny the “lack of this administration” and blame it on something else.  The truth is, Obama, Trump, Clinton, Lincoln, Washington,………I could go on and on, are not our saviors.  That is what our country and the world needs to clean up the mess……. human beings……me, my husband, my friends, my fellow church members, world leaders….again, I could go on and on……have created.

Human beings are really what is wrong with the world.  None of us are without sin.  The minute I start to think differently about myself, I am deceiving myself.  The minute I start to believe that one human being is going to save me from the junk of this world, I am deceiving myself.  The minute I start to think that I am above, better, or more righteous than someone else, because my sin doesn’t stink like theirs, I am deceiving myself.

P~ God, thank you for this lesson in the power of deceit.  I have not really given much thought to how destructive it can be, on a national and global scale.  I never realized that one of the biggest deceptive themes, is that someone else is going to “save us” from the junk of this country and world.  Please continue to help me stay focused on You, so I can know Your truths, about me, about others, and about this world.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on January 28, 2017, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

