January 22, 2017 Genesis 39,40; John 13:1-30

We have a new reading plan for 2017!!

Get the printable: Discover One Thing Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

You Are WITH Me | Kim Chipman

S~ The Lord was with Joseph so that he prospered, and he lived in the house of his Egyptian master. Genesis 39:2 (NIV)

the Lord was with him; he showed him kindness and granted him favor in the eyes of the prison warden. Genesis 39:21 (NIV)

O~ You were WITH Joseph. I love Joseph’s story. It paints a beautiful picture of how obedience and diligence in any circumstance brings blessing. It may not seem like it at the time, but over time (decades!?) Joseph was used in a mighty way for You. It probably didn’t feel mighty in the middle, though.

A~ You were WITH Joseph and You are WITH me. Joseph found favor in his circumstances, but they were far from ideal circumstances! He was sold into slavery and imprisoned for being falsely accused. The thing is that he had a positive attitude and was diligent in the messy middle. I want to be more like Joseph in that. Not easily discouraged by what situation I find myself in, but focused on serving You and doing what is right no matter what. Even if things aren’t perfect I have no idea the favor being shown. There are zillions of things that are NOT happening to me right now – evidence of Your favor.

You are WITH ME. Help me to live like it!

P~ Lord, I want to honor You in all things. Help me to be like Joseph – diligent and obedient no matter what the situation. Help me to see my cup as 1/2 full always. I love You!

Sacrificial Servanthood in Any Circumstance | Tara Wiley

S~ But while Joseph was in prison, the Lord was with him; he showed him kindness and granted him favor in the eyes of the prison warden. Genesis 39:20b-21

O~ Joseph was wrongly accused, and it cost him his freedom. He could have become bitter. He even could have just said, “I’ll wait on God to rescue me,” and bided his time. Instead, he lived and acted in a way that gained favor. He worked hard, proving his character even under unjust circumstances, and in the end, God redeemed even this prison-season of his life.

Our New Testament reading shows that Joseph’s behavior was in many ways a foreshadowing of Christ’s behavior. Jesus, wrongly accused and betrayed, kept his focus on God’s ultimate plan (John 13:3) and chose a life of sacrificial servanthood… even to the point of death.

A~ When I am mistreated… misunderstood… even betrayed… When I feel stuck, trapped, imprisoned… My response reveals my character. Can I keep the laser-focus of Jesus, eyes on God’s ultimate control and goal? Can I serve in spite of it all, loving sacrificially? Can I do my best to thrive even in the hard seasons, as Joseph did?

P~ Lord, to have this attitude requires continual heart transformation. I cannot rely on the times in the past when I’ve sought You and surrendered to You. I must seek You and surrender to You every day. I must continually lay down my will, training my eyes to focus on You, if I ever have hope of living a life of servant leadership like Jesus and Joseph. Lord, thank You that an eternal perspective takes the deeper sting out of betrayal and stuck places because it reminds me that You are in control and all these things will ultimately work for my good and Your glory. Thank You for that promise! Help me live in light of that today.

Refusing to Participate in Sin | Joni Tyner

S~ But Joseph refused. “Look”, he told her, “my master trusts me with everything in his entire household.”  Genesis 39:8 (NLT)

O~ Joseph is being propositioned by Potiphar’s wife to sleep with her.   He is clear that this is wrong, and doesn’t even consider it.  He knows that he has been put in a place of influence and doesn’t take it for granted.

A~ I know the difference between right and wrong.  I feel the Bible is pretty clear about this.  I just need to embrace what I know and refuse, like Joseph, to be a part of things I know dishonor God.

A few months back we had a slow weekend at work and a coworker brought a movie for all of us to watch.  It was a popular new release –and it was rated R.  I had personally made a commitment to not go see rated R movies several years back because I feel they glorify sin – the very reason my Jesus died on the cross.  They started the movie and I had every opportunity to not watch, yet, what did I do?  I pulled up my chair and jumped right in. 😦  I even told them to pause it– more than once, when I went to go do something.  I obviously didn’t follow Joseph’s example and refuse to be a part of sin.  I realized later, as I asked for forgiveness for not standing firm in my convictions, just how quickly I can become entrapped in sin.  It’s a fast, slippery slope that anyone can slide on.  There are some things I just need to REFUSE to participate in.

P~ Dear Lord, please infuse me with Your Spirit, help me to live out my faith genuinely and consistent with what I believe.  Thank you for grace when I mess up.   I want to be found faithful and devoted to You.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on January 22, 2017, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

