January 15, 2017 Genesis 27; Psalm 4; John 8:48-9:12

We have a new reading plan for 2017!!

Get the printable: Discover One Thing Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Peaceful sleep | Trisha Baker

S~ In peace I will lie down and sleep, for your alone, Lord, make me dwell in safety. Psalms 4:8 (NIV)

O~ God is the source of our peace and peace for our minds. It can be very hard sometimes to shut our minds off so we can go to sleep at night. During the day, we juggle many different things trying to make everything fall into place, but sometimes we are not able to make all the balls fall into place. So instead, we lie in bed at night thinking about how we could have done things differently to make all the things of life fall into place in the correct way. In reality, we need to give all these things to God, because only He is the expert juggler.

A~ I am not always so good at reading my devotions every day. I am learning more and more every day that reading the Bible is the key to giving all the things that I juggle during the day to Him. Knowing that my family and I are safe and secure is always at the top of my mind. It is the thing that leaves lying in bed at night worrying. But it is verses like this, which remind that me that God has got this. I can go to sleep at night knowing that He is the source of security for me and my family. I can have a peaceful sleep because He is in control.

P~ Father help me to give my troubles to you. Help me to always remember that you are the true source of safety and security. As I experience things during the day that are beyond my control, remind me to always trust in You. In your precious name, Amen.

So I Can See You | Kim Chipman

S~ “Neither this man nor his parents sinned,” said Jesus, “but this happened so that the works of God might be displayed in him. John 9:3 (NIV)

O~ My study bible says: ” A common belief in Jewish culture was that calamity or suffering was the result of some great sin. but Christ used this man’s suffering to teach about faith and glorify God. We live in a fallen world where good behavior is not always rewarded and bad behavior not always punished. Therefore, innocent people sometimes suffer. If God took suffering away whenever we asked, we would follow Him for comfort and convenience, not out of love and devotion. Regardless of the reasons for our suffering, Jesus has the power to help us deal with it.”

A~ I love that You are more concerned with revealing Yourself to me that with my comfort. It’s a good thing because most of the time I prefer my comfort. The thing is, that growth and transformation ever happen in my comfort, they happen when I’m stretched, pulled, pumped around, challenged, poked and inconvenienced. Those are the times when I come up against the choice to satisfy my flesh (make this feel better right NOW) or to sacrificially live to honor You.

Earlier Jesus said (8:50) “I am not seeking glory for myself; but there is one who seeks it, and he is the judge.” I desire for my heart to reflect the heart of Jesus! (but it doesn’t most of the time quite honestly…ouch)

P~ I want the works of God to be displayed in and through me so that You will be glorified! Help me to allow You to work. I know this means my comfort will be compromised, and I will likely be inconvenienced. I’m cool with that (for now…please help me remember!). I love You!

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on January 15, 2017, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Wow, good point Kim: “If God took suffering away whenever we asked, we would follow Him for comfort and convenience, not out of love and devotion.” Thanks for that insight.

Leave a Reply

