January 12, 2017 Genesis 22,23; John 7:14-44

We have a new reading plan for 2017!!

Get the printable: Discover One Thing Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Offer your only son | Nikki Metzger

S~ Then God said, “Take your son, your only son, Isaac, whom you love, and go to the region of Moriah.  Sacrifice him there as a burnt offering on one of the mountains I will tell you about.” Genesis 22:2 (NIV)

O~ What?  Isaac is literally a miracle from God and now God wants Abraham to sacrifice him?  This just seems crazy.  Abraham would have no sons left since Ishmael was gone.

A ~ Today is my kid’s birthday.  In the quiet of the morning, I’m just thinking back over the years.  They are the age that Isaac probably was when God asked Abraham to sacrifice him.  My kids are such a gift from the Lord.  The despair of infertility gives parenting a different perspective.

I love my kids so much and have been shaped into the person I am now because I have been their mom.  How in the world did Abraham ever agree to sacrifice his precious son?

As I write that and think about that, I need to reframe it a bit: How in the world did Father God ever agree to sacrifice His precious Son?

OH MY!

Isaac was saved and God provided a ram for the sacrifice.  Jesus was sacrificed and provided a way for the rest of us to be saved!!  I  thought the Lord was leading me to a note about parenting and love and idols of the heart. Nope, it’s coming around to my Savior, King of Kings, Lord of Lords, Prince of Peace.  It always comes back to Him!

P~ Father, thank You for Jesus!  My heart seems to gasp if I would ever have to sacrifice my kids.  But You did…..thank You!  Bless my children’s year!  Grow in them a heart that is completely undone for You!  Please give them a passion, deep understanding, insight, and Your Wisdom surrounding the Word.  Where they don’t love to read, make them readers.  Father, please position the Word as the ultimate and only truth in their life!  Give them the ability to memorize it and recall it as they walk through life.  Let Your Word pierce their soul and let it shape their life.  Father, I give them to You!  My kids are really Your kids!  Teach me, guide me, grow me to the parent You have planned for me!  I love You!  I pray these things in Jesus’ Name!

Immediate Obedience | Kim Chipman

S~ Early the next morning Abraham got up and loaded his donkey. He took with him two of his servants and his son Isaac. When he had cut enough wood for the burnt offering, he set out for the place God had told him about. Genesis 22:3 (NIV)

O~ Early the next morning…Abraham had just been asked by God to sacrifice his son. His ONLY son. And here’s the thing that gets me…he obeyed immediately. No arguing, doubting, delaying, justifying, procrastinating…none of that! None of it recorded anyway. You spoke, he was going, no questions.

A~ What an example! With the smallest inconveniences I procrastinate, argue, justify, beg…

P~ Lord, give me a heart of obedience like Abraham, ready to obey fully and quickly no matter the sacrifice. I love You!

Act on Faith | Deanna George

S~ “Do not lay a hand on the boy,” he said. “Do not do anything to him. Now I know that you fear God because you have not withheld from me your son, your only son.” Genesis 22:12 (NIV)

O~ God tested Abraham by telling him to sacrifice his son Isaac. Abraham was obedient and traveled to the site, carried the wood, built the alter, and placed his son on it. An angel stopped him before he killed him with a knife.

A~ I can’t even begin to imagine what that was like for Abraham. He waited decades for this son God promised him. Abraham accepted this request and honored God by his willingness to be obedient. He didn’t waiver in his faith when Isaac asked him what they were going to sacrifice. He just replied that God would provide. This was such a huge request from God. My heart breaks just thinking about it, but what is the outcome of fearing God and being obedient? Descendants as numerous as the stars and sand, possession of enemies’ cities, and all nations will be blessed through his offspring. What do I take from this? Why do I waiver when God asks me to do something that I see as hard or impossible? I do it because I allow time for my brain to come up with reasons to not do it. I need to stop evaluating the request and just be obedient and do what God is asking me. I need to be more like Abraham. Today I need to put action behind my faith!

P~ Lord Jesus, thank you for pointing out that I waste time evaluating what you are asking me to do. Help me to stop arguing with myself about procrastinating, not doing it at all, or question you about if it’s right or wrong. I want to be obedient and fear you like Abraham.

Seek the Truth in All Matters | Robin Laney

S~ Those in the crowd who heard these words were saying, “This has to be the Prophet.” Others said, “He is the Messiah!” But others were saying, “The Messiah doesn’t come from Galilee, does he? Don’t the Scriptures tell us that the Messiah comes from David’s line and from Bethlehem, David’s village?” So there was a split in the crowd over him. Some went so far as wanting to arrest him, but no one laid a hand on him. John 7:40-44 (MSG)

O~ Jesus was in Jerusalem, preaching in the temple courts and people were all stirred up. Some believed him and others did not. Some wanted to follow him and some wanted him dead. All had a choice to make, to believe that Jesus was the Messiah or that he wasn’t.

A~ Information abounds! We are informed in many ways today; social media, news outlets, friends and family, books. Some of the information we receive is true, some is incomplete, and some is outright false. In small matters and large, finding the truth is crucial and totally our responsibility as individuals. We were created with brains and reasoning skills for our benefit and for the good of the world. Whether it be passing along information, forming an idea about something or someone, or making an eternal life decision, it is important to seek out the truth.

The people in this story made assumptions about Jesus that literally cost them their lives. I make assumptions about people and situations that suck the life out of me almost every day. I have passed along information that is incomplete or untrue affecting how others might perceive a person or event. I bight hook, line, and sinker on a falsehood that leads me down a path I don’t need to be on.

Our world needs more truth tellers and more truth seekers.

P~ Lord, let me be a Truth seeker and a Truth sharer. Guide me, by Your Spirit, to be keenly aware of misinformation and half-truths. Give me Your wisdom in discerning fact from fiction. Equip me with boldness and the right words to counter incorrect ideas people may have about You so that they might have life in You.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on January 12, 2017, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

