January 6, 2017 Genesis 11,12; John 4:1-26

We have a new reading plan for 2017!!

Get the printable: Discover One Thing Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

If You Knew… | Kim Chipman

S~ Jesus answered her, “If you knew the gift of God and who it is that asks you for a drink, you would have asked him and he would have given you living water.” John 4:10 (NIV)

O~ “If you knew…”

James 1:5 If any of you lacks wisdom, you should ask God, who gives generously to all without finding fault, and it will be given to you.

Proverbs 28:26 Those who trust in themselves are fools, but those who walk in wisdom are kept safe.

Psalm 111:10 The fear of the Lord is the beginning of wisdom; all who follow his precepts have good understanding. To him belongs eternal praise.

A~ Today this has me pondering 2 things…

  1. Quite often with people in my life who are not saved this is what I think…”If you only knew”…A relationship with You is the best thing EVER. I can’t imagine going through life with any hope or purpose without You.
  2. There are times I forget! I shift to relying on my own self. Then I feel this message is very much for me also. “Kim, if you only knew…” I know You, but don’t always rely on You like I could/should. I try to figure things out on my own. I don’t trust the way I know I can. It’s such a process to remain dependent and humble and I’m not super good at it, but I’m sure trying. I need You and Your wisdom. I need to continually come to Your Word and meditate on Your truth.

P~ Lord, thank You for Your Word, for Your wisdom, for the Holy Spirit that guides me into all truth. Oh, how I need You. I love You!

Creator vs. Created | Robin Laney

S~ The woman said to him, “Sir, you have nothing to draw water with, and the well is deep. Where do you get that living water? Are you greater than our father Jacob? He gave us the well and drank from it himself, as did his sons and his livestock.” John 4:11-12 (ESV)

O~ The Samaritan woman at the well questioned Jesus how he might acquire the living water he spoke of. Taking him literally, she couldn’t understand how he might have access to water from the deep well, let alone living (running) water. She then compares him to Jacob, who she understood to be the one who created the well, used it himself, and handed it down to her people. She referred to Jacob as ‘father’, though Jesus would have considered her to be a Gentile. It struck me that maybe she worshiped the well creator as her provider, preventing her from considering anything better as possible. In the following verses, Jesus assures her that the water He offers will never leave her thirsty but the water of Jacob’s well will leave her wanting.

A~ This part of the story made me think of the traditions, religious activities/disciplines, and Church leaders (past and present) that we humans look to for spiritual nourishment that can, and do, end up leaving us thirsty. We get caught up in worshiping the created rather than the Creator, the provided rather than the Provider. Only Jesus can fully satisfy.

P~ Lord Jesus, keep my focus on You as Provider of all I need. Keep me from looking to the created to feed me, knowing that You are the source of living water that will never leave me thirsty.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on January 6, 2017, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

