January 5, 2017 Genesis 9,10; John 3:22-36

We have a new reading plan for 2017!!

Get the printable: Discover One Thing Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Set Up Reminders | Tara Wiley

S~ I have set my rainbow in the clouds, and it will be the sign of the covenant between me and the earth. Genesis 9:13

O~ Repeated words is a key indicator in Scripture that the author is trying to draw your attention to something significant. So, when God is speaking and He uses a word or phrase repeatedly – I take notice!

“It will be the sign of the covenant between me and the earth…” v 13

“I will remember my covenant…” v 15

“I will see it and remember the everlasting covenant…” v 16

“This is the sign of the covenant…” v 17

A~ God establishes covenants throughout Scripture. He also uses signs to indicate those covenants, and to serve as reminders. I love that God teaches us to use symbols of commitment (wedding rings, anyone?). My word for 2017 is “Prepare.” I want to follow God’s lead to set up reminders around me so I can keep this word – and the goals behind it – front and center throughout this year.

P~ Lord, I’ve always loved that rainbows are a reminder of Your promises. I love that it’s a consistent sign – but also one that is surprising, awe-inspiring, and at times, unexpected. I love Your teaching style. J I want to be like You! So, as I set aside this year to prepare for the imminent changes in our lives as we near Mo’s Air Force retirement, I want to be reminded, to see and remember, that You are in the midst of all of these changes. It’s not so much that I want a symbol of my own chosen word as much as I want a reminder of Your covenant promises amid change. I’m looking forward to what You are going to do in our lives in the next year! Show me some creative ways to set up reminders and signs that point me to You. Help me to remember Your ways each time I see that word, and to find peace in Your promises.

Which son are you? | Trisha Baker

S~ Ham, the father of Canaan, saw his father naked and told his two brothers outside. But Shem and Japheth took a garment and laid it across their shoulders; then they walked in backward and covered their father’s naked body. Their faces were turned so that they would not see their father naked. Genesis 9:22-23 (NIV)

O~ When Ham saw his father naked and drunk, he did not try to help his father, but rather he just talked about him to his brothers. Ham’s brothers when finding out their father was naked had a much different response. They did not want to look up on his nakedness, but rather cover him up so that no one else would see their father this way.

A~ Ham’s response to seeing his father naked, was not to help him but rather talk about him. But Shem and Japheth, wanted to help their father and cover up his sin of naked drunkenness. To me this is his two sons showing him grace and not wanted to show the sin of their father to others. This is how we need to be to each other. When we see our family, whether blood or not, showing their sin to the world, we need to give them grace and not go to others and talk about them.  Even though talking about this person might be easier to do, because often helping someone takes time away from what we want to do, but it is the correct thing to do. In the year to come, there will be lots of opportunities to gossip or give love and grace instead. We all, and this includes myself, need to always keep Noah’s sons in mind and remember which son we want to be.

P~ Father God, I thank you so much for all of the wonderful lessons you teach us through the Bible and the lives of those who have come before us. Help us to remember the lessons they teach us, so that we can spared from learning lives lessons the hard way. Help us to see others through your eyes of love and not through the condemning eyes of man. I thank you Father, that this upcoming year will be full of opportunities to show others what Your grace and love looks like. Help us to always take advantage of these opportunities. In Your precious name, Amen.

One Purpose | Kim Chipman

S~ He must become greater; I must become less. John 3:30 (NIV)

O~ John was questioned about Jesus’ growing ministry and baptizing many people. He told his followers ‘I am not the Messiah but am sent ahead of him.’ (v28). He knew that his purpose was to prepare the way for Jesus. Competing in ministry is not humble servanthood.

Ephesians 4:1-6 As a prisoner for the Lord, then, I urge you to live a life worthy of the calling you have received. Be completely humble and gentle; be patient, bearing with one another in love. Make every effort to keep the unity of the Spirit through the bond of peace. There is one body and one Spirit, just as you were called to one hope when you were called; one Lord, one faith, one baptism; one God and Father of all, who is over all and through all and in all.

Colossians 3:14-15 And over all these virtues put on love, which binds them all together in perfect unity. Let the peace of Christ rule in your hearts, since as members of one body you were called to peace. And be thankful.

(Jesus prays for all believers) John 17:20-23 “My prayer is not for them alone. I pray also for those who will believe in me through their message, that all of them may be one,Father, just as you are in me and I am in you. May they also be in us so that the world may believe that you have sent me. I have given them the glory that you gave me, that they may be one as we are one—I in them and you in me—so that they may be brought to complete unity. Then the world will know that you sent me and have loved them even as you have loved me.

A~ This rings true still today. There are many churches, many ministry organizations…the moment it becomes about glorifying or following anyone but Jesus then we are missing the purpose. In Omaha there is a group just getting started called “Metro Women’s Faith Network”. The purpose is: “Dedicated to being a network of faith filled women, ready to engage in our communities, pray, and stand together as one. Encourage. Engage. Unify.” I love it! We are all on the same team. Same in my home. We should be unified…”then the world will know”…Unity brings You glory. It cannot be born out of pride, but humility. You must become greater; I must become less.

P~ In my life show me HOW. Show me my pride and selfishness so I can pull it out by the root. Help me in all things I do and think to be focused on You…to help You become greater while I humbly become less. I love You!

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on January 5, 2017, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

