January 4, 2017 Genesis 7,8; John 3:1-21

We have a new reading plan for 2017!!

Get the printable: Discover One Thing Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

The ark, Jesus, and storms | Nikki Metzger

S~ For forty days the flood kept coming on the earth, and as the waters increased they lifted the ark high above the earth. Genesis 7:17 (NIV)

O~ Eight people were on a REALLY big boat with a lot of animals.  And they probably were on the ark for six months or more.

A~ I watched a play about Noah at the Sight and Sound Theater in Branson, Missouri.  It gave me a glimpse of what life might have been like on the ark.  Living on the ark for all that time wasn’t like being a guest on a cruise ship.  It was probably very hard work, smelly, dirty, and very uncomfortable.

Actually, the middle of the life-saving ark, was probably much like the barn or cave where the life-saving Messiah was born.  Isn’t it funny how the Old Testament always points to Jesus some way?

I wonder if some Christians believe that if they are saved or believe that Jesus is Lord, that their life would be like stepping onto a cruise ship as Jesus’ guest.  Jesus never promises us the fancy life or the easy life or the American dream life, He promises us a full, abundant life in Him.  He offers us a place on the ark, it’s not void of the storms of life, but a way through them.

P~ Father, thank You for making a way for us in the middle of storms!  I life my family members up who are walking through BIG storms right now.  Make room in their heart for Jesus.  May no bitter root grow in his heart because of this storm.  Thank You!  I pray this in Jesus’ Name!

Spirit Led | Joni Tyner

S~ Jesus replied,  “I assure you, no one can enter the Kingdom of God without being born of water and the Spirit. John 3:5 (NLT)

O~ Jesus is having a conversation with Nicodemus about the Kingdom of God.  The Kingdom of God includes heaven and also our  current lives of submitting to God’s rule and authority.  My Bible notes say that Jesus was explaining that people don’t enter the Kingdom by living a better life, but by being spiritually reborn.

A~ I feel like sometimes the line is blurred between doing things for God and doing things that are Spirit led.  I frequently seem to bounce between being Spirit led and flesh led (my own way).  I know we I am consistent with reading the Bible and following through with journaling, I am more tender to the things of God.  I also know when I pray to see  people and the world through God eyes, I often do.  Maybe I’m off here, but I think living a life that is Spirit led is submitting and allowing God to mold my thinking and also my actions.

P~ Dear Lord, as I begin this new year, please help me to see situations from Your perspective.  Guide my responses to reflect Your Kingdom.  I desire to live a life that is reflective of You.

My Savior | Kim Chipman

S~ For God did not send his Son into the world to condemn the world, but to save the world through him. John 3:17 (NIV)

O~ Therefore, there is now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus, because through Christ Jesus the law of the Spirit who gives life has set you free from the law of sin and death. Romans 8:1-2

condemn [kuh n-dem]  verb 1. to express an unfavorable or adverse judgment on; indicate strong disapproval of; censure. 2. to pronounce to be guilty; sentence to punishment

A~ Talk about good news! For most of my life I did not see You as Savior, but as condemner. I knew in my heart that I was sinful and I felt “strongly disapproved of”. It is certainly a work in progress to undo and unravel those thought patterns, but it is a necessary work to live in Your truth and freedom! That is why you came! To save me and set me free from my sin, not to strongly disapprove or punish me for it.

I’m not sure why this simple, basic truth is so hard to live in, but for me it is.

P~ Thank You for Your Word and for continually revealing to me who You are and who I am in You. I love You!

Hope | Deanna George

S~ For God did not send his Son into the world to condemn the world, but to save the world through him. John 3:17 (NIV)

O~ Jesus’ purpose on earth was to save us.

A~ The world had so much evil that he God could have condemned it again, but he made a promise that he would never wipe out the human race again. Instead, he provided hope! He promised to never give up on us. He knew we needed to be saved, so he shared his Son with us. Hang on to this extraordinary gift of hope in all circumstances. It’s a precious gift that he gave to each of us! What a way to start 2017 – to know that I can have hope all the time because God loved me so much that he gave me Jesus!

P~ Lord Jesus, thank you for providing me with hope. You paid a heavy price to provide me with salvation. I’m so excited that I can have hope all the time. Please help me to cling to you during all my circumstances so that I may feel that hope you provide.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on January 4, 2017, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

