December 31 Revelation 19,20,21,22

We will begin a new reading plan January 1, 2017! Get the printable: Discover One Thing Reading Plan

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Give clear witness for Jesus! | Nikki Metzger

S~ Worship only God.  For the essence of prophecy is to give a clear witness for Jesus. Revelation 19:10b (NLT)

O~ An angel is speaking to John, the author of this book.

A~ The angel instructs John to worship only God.  And all the prophecy is to give a clear picture for Jesus.  Worship God and let all things clearly point to Jesus.

Does my life and every facet, every relationship, clearly point to Jesus?  I doubt it.  I just keep thinking of instruction: to love one another.

Love is patient and kind.  Love is not jealous or boastful or proud or rude.  Love doesn’t demand it’s own way.  Love is not irritable, it keeps no record of being wronged.  It does not rejoice about injustice, but rejoices when the truth wins out.  Love never gives up, never loses faith, is always hopeful, and endures through every circumstance. (1 Corinthians 13:4-7)

I know that God has not gifted me with prophetic words, but I love words and talking.  So what do I do?  I want my family, my co workers, my friends, my extended family, my bros and sis’ in Christ, strangers, to get a clear witness for Jesus in me.  But without words! I think I just need to love them.  God’s definition of love is super hard!  I always forget it and mess it up.

P~ Father, may 2016 be a year of love from me.  May every morning You give me the opportunity to love the people You have put in my life.  Grow my heart in Your type of love!  I pray this in Jesus’ Name!

Wipe away the tears | Trisha Baker

S~ He will wipe away every tear from their eyes. There will be no more death or mourning or crying or pain, for the old order has passed away. Revelation 21:4 (NIV)

O~ On this earth, there will be hurt and crying and pain, but there will come a day when all of this will be taken away from us. Jesus will come back, and when he does He will take all the hurt that sin has caused, and will replace it with a never ending joy.

A~ It can be hard sometimes to live this life, that is often filled with hurt and disappointment, and keep the thought in our hearts that Jesus will come back and take this all away. The hurt is real right now, that what will happen someday seems like miles away and does not help to diminish what we are feeling right now. But this is where hope comes into play. The hope that one day Jesus will wipe away every tear and heal every hurt or pain we have felt in our lives. I know for myself, it helps me to know that Jesus is coming back; that He is going to make everything better. That every day of my life that I live is a day closer to when He will return, and in a way, it is like keeping your eye on the prize. Don’t concentrate on the hurt and the source of your tears; keep your mind on the one that will someday wipe away all those tears.

P~ Father God, help me to keep my eyes on you. Help me to always remember that you are source of my joy and that there is nothing on this earth that can supply the peace and the joy that you can. Thank you Father for giving the promises that you give us, the promise that you will come back someday and wipe away our tears and heal our brokenness; and help us to keep our eyes on you.
In Your precious name, Amen.

Humble and Brave | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ All who are victorious will inherit all these blessings, and I will be their God and they will be my children.  But the cowards who turn away from me, and unbelievers, and the corrupt, and the murderers, and the immoral, and those who practice witchcraft, and idol worshipers, and all liars—their doom is in the lake that burns with fire and sulfur.  Revelations 21:7,8  (NLT)

O~ The notes in my bible read: “The ‘cowards’ are not those who are fainthearted in their faith or who sometimes doubt or question but those who turn back from following God.  They are not brave enough to stand up for Christ, they are not humble enough to accept his authority over their lives”.

A~ The notes helped me understand the verse a little better and encouraged me some, by helping me to realize that doubting or questioning or even being weak in my faith doesn’t make me a coward, but I still wonder if I am brave enough to stand up for Christ, or do I accept your authority over my life. I want to stand up for Christ, to be humble, to accept your authority over my life.

P~ Dear Father, help me to live this way for you, for me, for others.

God Is | Deanna George

S~ I am the Alpha and the Omega, the First and the Last, the Beginning and the End. Revelations 22:13 (NIV)

O~ God is everything. God is always there. He doesn’t show up late and he stays until the end.

A~ There is no one else in my world that can be there 100% of the time. So why do I place my trust in man at times? No one can comfort like God does. No one can provide peace like God does. I can’t help but get so excited about who God is! He us the 1st – first to see, hear, and know me, and he is the last to give up on me! He was with me when I began this life and he will be with me when it comes to an end. He is the author of my story. It is up to me to embrace him in the middle of my life, and boy am I glad I do. He can handle my ugly cry. He can handle my anger. He guides me. He helps me love others. He rejoices with me. He is all I need.

P~ Lord Jesus, thank you for being all I need. I appreciate that you know me completely and still love me. I love that you were there at the beginning and you will be there until the end. Thank you for all the help in the middle! Thank you for providing that help through your Word, through my husband and kids, through my family and friends, and through my Bible study tribe. Keep the help coming because I need it!

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on December 31, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

