December 28 Revelation 5,6,7,8,9

We will begin a new reading plan January 1, 2017! Get the printable: Discover One Thing Reading Plan

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

New Song | Nikki Metzger

S~ You are worthy to take the scroll and to open its seals, because You were slain, and with Your blood You purchased men for God from every tribe and language and people and nation. Revelation 5:9 (NIV)

O~ This is part of the new song the elders and angels will be singing in heaven.

A~ Jesus’ blood purchased men (from EVERY tribe, language, people, and nation) for God.  And it was ONLY Jesus’ blood that could do the saving, redeeming, glorifying work so that men could experience relationship with God.  YES!!!! So, there is the gospel right there, the purchase of man.  The next thought after the gospel confronts racial, culture, tribal, national differences.  So who is covered by the blood of Christ?  Everyone!

One year ago, I had a new manager who poured into me.  She challenged me to grow as a professional, but also as a human.  She challenged me to look at my internal thoughts, my culture, my definitions of a good/bad parent (part of my job), and to address the tension that I had head on.  She also introduced me to an underlying oppression in our culture called white privilege.  Seriously, how I had never heard of white privilege ’till I was in my 30s? This has birthed a new path of learning in me.  I’m doing things now that I never did a year ago; reading books about racial tension, following a very diverse crowd on social media, and listening to others to learn from them.   In the midst of all this, the Lord has urged me to keep Him center of this all.  Because quite honestly, racial reconciliation could become an idol.

Because His blood purchased men from every tribe, tongue, nation, culture, and people group.  Jesus is first part of the gospel, it was His blood that first purchased all the people.  Love God. Love people.

It’s so ridiculously simple on paper. Love God, Love people.  What is love?  Love is patient. Love is kind. It does not envy. It does not boast, it is not proud.  It does not dishonor others.  It is not self-seeking.  It is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs.  Love does not delight in evil, but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.  Love never fails.

P~ Father, I love You!  In Your power, let me love others, especially the hard ones.  I’m ill-equipped for racial conversations, but I can love, and I can speak when You call me to that.  Give me Your Words!  I pray this in Jesus’ Name!

Remember | Deanna George

S~ saying: “Amen!
Praise and glory
and wisdom and thanks and honor
and power and strength
be to our God for ever and ever.
Amen!” Revelation 7:12 (NIV)

O~ All the angels fell down on their faces and worshiped God. We are to give praise and glory to God no matter what we are going through.

A~ It can be hard to remember to praise and thank God during the good times. I get caught up in life and just go with the flow. Is this what God wants? No, he wants me to give him glory for it. He wants me to acknowledge his hand in it. He wants me during the good and the bad times. He wants me to give him glory all the time! Remembering to praise God during life struggles can be hard too. I tend take the problems to him, but do I praise him for who he is? I forget to do that and just focus on how I need help. God is always worthy of praise. It is not dependent on my circumstances. He is always faithful! I need to remember to give him the glory that he deserves.

P~ Lord Jesus, you are worthy of my praise. You are always there willing to listen, to encourage, to help, and to carry me when I feel like I can’t carry on. You can and do handle it because you have the wisdom, the strength, and the power. I’m sorry when I lose focus on how great you are. I put my limitations on you just because I get so focused on my circumstances. Thank you for being bigger, stronger, and smarter than me. Thank you for reminding me that you are there, you are capable, and you are worthy. I want to praise you and give you honor every day of my life.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on December 28, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

