December 27 Revelation 1,2,3,4

We will begin a new reading plan January 1, 2017! Get the printable: Discover One Thing Reading Plan

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

What We Do With The Bible | Kelley Deases

S~ Blessed is the one who reads the words of this prophesy, and blessed are those who hear it and take to heart what is written in it because the time is near. Revelation 1:3 (NIV)

O~  In a previous post, I posed a similar question: “What will we do with Jesus?” The answer to that question determines the course of a person’s life and eternity. This verse takes me to the next question with which we must grapple after choosing to commit our lives to Christ. What will we do with His Word? Will we be content to let our Bible sit on the shelf while we listen to a reference now and then from our pastors, a Sunday school teacher, or the author of another book?

A~  I myself was content with this indirect method for more years than I’d like to admit, though I thought of myself as an earnest believer. I am so grateful God did not leave me there in the shallow end. He used people and circumstances in my life to convince me I could and should read the Bible for myself. I learned to “self-feed” and my life is all the richer for it. Out of this “revelation,” this blog was birthed and my participation in it. A Bible study in my home — where we actually open the Bible and read it together — came along. I have had opportunity to speak to several groups and individuals, including my own husband, on the importance of getting into God’s Word.

What I did with Jesus, i.e. accept Him as my Lord and Savior, was eternity-changing. Now, what I have done with His Word, i.e. read it for myself and, with His help, put it into practice, was and continues to be life-changing.

P~  Jesus, My heart overflows that You have seen fit to choose me as Your child and reveal to me a glimpse of who You are and who You want me to be in You.

It Is A Relationship Thing | Michelle Myers

S~ The mystery of the seven stars that you saw in my right hand and of the seven golden lampstands is this: the seven stars are the angels of the seven churches, and the seven lampstands are the seven churches.  Revelation 1:20 (NIV)

O~ In the following chapters, Jesus goes on to address each church individually.  He points out both the positive and negative, in regards to each church and its members.

A~ The church that my family and I attend, has gone through a lot of changes in the last 5 years or so.  We got a new pastor.  Other employees have left and been replaced with new people. We moved to a new building.  We have have changed names.

Along with these changes, came a great deal of criticism and judgement. Some members have left.  Some members have stayed. Some members stay, but continue to criticize and judge.  That I don’t understand, because there are plenty of churches out there.

What I have come to understand is that not every church is “for me” as I have my own individual character and personality and that was given to me, by YOU.  Over the years, we tried several churches, before finding the right one.  In most of them, the style in which the message was delivered was different, but the message was the same and out of the Bible.

None of the seven churches or the people in the churches got the stamp of perfection from Jesus.  Probably, because churches are made up of people……….from the top down………….broken, sinful, and messy people.  That is why my relationship with You has to be personal.  It has to be much more than sitting with You on Sunday morning.

P~ Thank you God for showing me the importance of having an individual, purposeful relationship with You.  Without it, I am a broken, messy person, who is following other broken, messy people.  Please help my children see how important this individual relationship with You is.  Help them understand that it is so much more than sitting in church on Sunday, giving money, or doing good works.

Rebuke and Discipline | Nikki Metzger

S~ Those whom I love I rebuke and discipline.  So be earnest, and repent. Revelation 3:19 (NIV)

O~ Jesus is talking to the churches.

A~ A good father rebukes (a sharp disapproval) and disciplines his kids.  Kids just don’t come out perfect and obedient, so their caregivers need to teach them.  Just like me!  I’m an imperfect child of God, so He will rebuke and discipline me.  His Word tells me that those who the Father loves, He will discipline and rebuke.

I can think of a recent rebuke that came through reading God’s Word.  I didn’t journal on it because it revealed how prideful I really am.  But the Lord’s rebuke led me to repentance.  As I look back on that rebuke, it was uncomfortable getting real with God, but I think I’m better for it.  Won’t make that sinful choice of my words again!

I think I also have more trust for my Father.  That if I get on the wrong path or my pride blinds me again (it will), or if I am wrong, He will rebuke and discipline, leading me to repentance.  This is very freeing to me!  I don’t have to strive in my own power to be on God’s path for my life, He has me exactly where He needs me and if I get turned around, He will let me know!

P~ Father, thank You!  I don’t like getting rebuked or disciplines, but I know it’s because You love me!

Worship the One who is Worthy | Deanna George

S- You are worthy, our Lord and God,
to receive glory and honor and power,
for you created all things,
and by your will they were created
and have their beings. Revelation 4:11 (NIV)

O~ God created all things so let’s worship him because he is worthy to receive the glory, honor, and power!

A~ I want to jump and scream with the excitement that is bubbling inside of me. God is so big and powerful that I can’t fathom it. He created me! He created my husband! He created our 4 babies! He wanted  us here on this earth. Why? I’m finding out why a little bit at a time, but I know it is to worship him. In my life, I have lots of reasons to praise him. He has brought me peace in troubling times. He has healed me when doctors couldn’t figure out what was going on. He has blessed me beyond my wildest dreams. The true joy comes when I praise him! My circumstances fade away while I praise him. My heart fills with love, joy, and peace starts to replace the anxiety my body is feeling. I have found nothing that has an affect on me the way that worship does. Focusing on the one true God, who created everything, allows me to pour out my heart, be vulnerable with him, hand over my problems to him, and trust him with my life. He is worthy of that dedication and love! Worship him everyday!

P~ Lord Jesus, thank you! Thank you for being omnipotent ( all-powerful), omniscient (all-knowing), and omnipresent (all-present). You are all I need to navigate this world. You are always there for me. Please help me to honor you the way you deserve to be honored. I love you!

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on December 27, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

