December 26 Psalm 117; Psalm 119:81-176; 2 John 1; 3 John 1

We will begin a new reading plan January 1, 2017! Get the printable: Discover One Thing Reading Plan

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

The Source of Hope | Deanna George

S~ You are my refuge and my shield; I have put my hope in your word. Psalm 119:114 (NIV)

O~ God is my protector. He also provided us with a “how to” book to guide us, encourage us, and strengthen us in all all aspects of our lives.

A~ God is with us everyday. He protects us. This doesn’t mean he is going to stop us from experiencing bad things, but that he is going to be there to endure it with us. The Word of God was given to us so that we may find answers, hope, instructions, and comfort. If we are seeking answers, the Bible has them! If we are seeking hope, the Bible has it! If we are seeking what to do about a situation, what to do next, or how to change our attitude, the Bible gives us the how-to. God included all of it in his Word. He knew we would need help. He knew it needed to be written down because our mind is so stressed that we may not hear a still small voice. God will provide the strength to endure when we seek him. Where do I turn when I need answers? Self-help books? The Internet? Friends & family? I need to go to the best, original source first – the Bible! I need to be willing to accept what the word says and live it out. I need to put my hope in God and the Bible, and not in man.

P~ Lord Jesus, I don’t always go to you first. I seek out other’s advice before I seek you. I need to go to you first. I love how you use other people to help, but I need the wisdom of who to go to. I know I can get that right, if I seek you and listen to you. I have such a knack for prolonging the situation by doing it on my own, by listening to people who I shouldn’t be, and then getting upset with you when it becomes a bigger mess. I am choosing to go to you first. I am putting my hope in you. Thank you for the Bible. Thank you for showing us that we are not facing anything new that past generations have not experienced. You have provided a way to live this life and to live it to the fullest. Help me to wear out my Bible!

What Am I Imitating and Why? | Michelle Myers

S~ Dear friends, do not imitate what is evil but what is good. 3 John 11 (NIV)

O~ I have come to the conclusion that certain situations increase my chances of imitating evil and not good.  First, not being the word on a daily basis.  Second, not putting up the necessary boundaries needed for good self-care.  Third, not being obedient, which is a sin by itself.  Yet, there is a lot of yuck that goes on inside of me when I am disobedient, and that yuck can easily come spewing out onto other, innocent people.

A~ I need to be in the word everyday.  I need to set firm boundaries with my resources, so I can practice good self-care.  This is going to require me to ask for help.  I am not good at asking for help.  I need to be obedient, because my disobedience in these areas, causes the evil to snowball.

P~ Thank you God for never giving up on me.  I am making progress, but still have along ways to go!  Please just keep reminding me, showing me, and helping me.  On my own, I am just a mess, and I make a mess.

 

 

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on December 26, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

