December 22 John 12,13,14

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

For My Benefit | Michelle Myers

S~ Jesus said, ‘This voice was for your benefit, not mine.’ John 12:30 (NIV)

O~ Jesus has just said, “Father glorify Your name!”  Then a voice came down from heaven and said, “I have glorified it, and will glorify it again.” John 12:28

A~ When you speak to me through the Holy Spirit, it is for my benefit not Yours.  By living an obedient life, it does glorify You, but ultimately I am the one who benefits from it.  You don’t need to eat healthier or put down the cake.  You don’t need to do physical therapy exercises.  You don’t need to walk on the treadmill at the gym.  You don’t need to get so many hours of sleep each night.  You don’t need to read Your word everyday. You don’t need to cut things out of your schedule to create margin in the day. You don’t need to stick to a budget.  You don’t need to remain calm, peaceful, and loving with Your spouse and children, even when they aren’t being so easy to love.  I do!

P~ Thank you God for Your patience with me.  Please help me be obedient for my benefit and Your glory.

Humbly Serve | Kim Chipman

S~ “No,” said Peter, “you shall never wash my feet.” Jesus answered, “Unless I wash you, you have no part with me.” John 13:8 (NIV)

O~ I feel like this has a few meanings perhaps…

  1. The more obvious – that we need to be cleansed by the blood of Jesus to enjoy communion/fellowship/relationship with Him.
  2. It is humbling to have someone serve me. Perhaps learning that I am needy is an important lesson. Pride is insidious.
  3. Jesus’ attitude and actions show me how to be a leader. He was a servant. He didn’t flaunt His power or position. He humbly served the very people who needed Him most – even though they didn’t even fully understand the dynamic. He knew. He served them with all He had

A/P~ Lord, Help me to remember my need for You. Apart from You I can do NOTHING! Help me to lead like You led – humbly serving whether anyone understood or not because You were doing the Father’s work (v7 “You do not realize now what I am doing, but later you will understand.”) Step in when my emotions get away from me in the moment. I need You!

Grieving at Christmastime | Tara Wiley

S~ I will not leave you as orphans; I will come to you. John 14:18 NLT

O~ One of the greatest joys of Advent is the promise fulfilled that Jesus CAME. He came. And He will come again.

A~ I have so many friends grieving this Christmas. Their holiday is achingly empty because someone they love dearly is gone. A grandmother, a friend… a child. It feels so wrong to sing happy carols and go to parties and exchange gifts and be cheery.

But we can celebrate this season, even in grief, though it may look and feel quite different than other years. The moments will still come, if we let them: the moments of hope.

Because even in the loneliest place of all – the place of grief – we are not truly alone. Jesus promises: He will not leave us alone. He will come to us, a light in the darkness. And He comes with the promises that one day, He will come back, make all things right, and brings us to His Home.

Jan Richardson wrote a profound poem reflecting on the promise God gives in the darkest of nights:

All throughout these months
as the shadows
have lengthened,
this blessing has been
gathering itself,
making ready,
preparing for
this night.

It has practiced
walking in the dark,
traveling with
its eyes closed,
feeling its way
by memory
by touch
by the pull of the moon
even as it wanes.

So believe me
when I tell you
this blessing will
reach you
even if you
have not light enough
to read it;
it will find you
even though you cannot
see it coming…

This is the night
when you can trust
that any direction
you go,
you will be walking
toward the dawn.

P~ Lord, for my grieving friends, bring the gentle moments of reminder that they are not alone, and that there is hope, because You will come again. Bring the promises to their minds that will bring hope to their hearts. Bring peace. Bring light. Bring YOU. Jesus, come to them. Help them trust You in the darkness, to keep moving forward towards the promised dawn.Show them how to gently enter into this part of Christmas, the part that brings hope and healing, even in their sorrow.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on December 22, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

