December 18 John 2,3,4

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Where the Spirit blows | Nikki Metzger

S~ The wind blows wherever it pleases.  You hear its sound, but you cannot tell where it comes from or where it is going.  So it is with everyone born of the Spirit. ~Jesus in John 3:8 (NIV)

O~ Jesus is teaching about the spiritual birth when we believe, it is compared to our physical birth.  We come alive in our Spirit when we believe in Christ.

** Side note ** I just have to wonder how it felt for Adam and Eve to be spiritually alive and then to spiritually die when they ate the fruit, even though they were physically alive.

A~ As God leads me down a path of letting go of more and more, here is more confirmation that I really have no control over anything, except me.  The Spirit of God moves, like the wind, to accomplish His work.

Truly, I have zero say of anyone becoming a believer, because it’s the Spirit’s work.  As much as I want my next one’s to believe in Jesus, it must be the Holy Spirit who completes that miracle.  I am to be a witness for Jesus and love them.

P~ Father, thank You for Your Word!  I life up these people in my heart to You.  Please direct the Holy Spirit to work a miracle of belief in their heart!  I love You!

You Have To Be Greater! | Michelle Myers

S~ He must become greater; I must become less.  John 3:30 (NIV)

O~ John the Baptist is replying to some of his disciples and a jew.  They came to him and told him that people were also going to Jesus to be baptized.

John knew what his role and purpose was.  He also knew what Jesus’ role and purpose was.  He humbled himself, and let Jesus take the lead.

A~ The last few months have just been crazy, out of balance, and overly busy.  I have not been getting the quality time with You, that I need.  Let me rephrase that….. I have not been making the time, to spend the quality time with You, that I need.  Silly me! I forgot that this time was for MY benefit, not Yours.  You know I need this time.

John 2:25 says, “He did not need man’s testimony about man, for he knew what was in a man.”  This is why I need my time with You.  The crazy, out of balance, and overly busy is a result of not having that time with You.  You show me what I need to do, to keep myself from getting crazy, out of balance, and overly busy.

When I do get this way, a whole lot of confusion results, because I don’t have time to process through everything.  When I do get this way, I get overly tired and overly emotional.  This results in a lot of YUCK coming out of me.  The crazy pace of my life, starts to literally drive my mind crazy.  I had a few days like this last week.

P~ Thank you God for reminding me that these are MY issues, and MY responsibility to handle.  Thank you for reminding me that quality time with You is a HUGE part of my armor.  I am weakened when I don’t make it a priority.  On the surface, it often appears to be an issue with not having enough time to complete all the tasks, that I feel have invaded my day.  Please help me remember that I need that quality time with You.   I need to put YOU first.  I need YOU to guide my life.  Please help me remember that I need to humble myself and let YOU take the lead.  When I don’t, I am spiritually weak. The YUCK in me multiples, and eventually comes out.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on December 18, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

