December 10 2 Timothy 1,2,3,4

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Use What God Gave You | Deanna George

S~ For the Spirit God gave us does not make us timid, but gives us power, love, and self-discipline. 2 Timothy 1:7 (NIV)

O~ Where should my confidence come from? The Holy Spirit. It’s like God had me in mind when he created the Holy Spirit. He knew I would prefer to be timid, fight self-discipline, and doubt myself. I know I am not alone with these feelings of inadequacy. My mind plays tricks on me so that I am not as effective as I can be. This is a scripture to claim each and every day. God gave me the Holy Spirit to help me be bold, be powerful, be loving, and be self-disciplined.

A~ There are several areas where I have confidence that I can and will succeed, but when it comes to things I don’t know or feel confident in, I struggle to even begin it. The doubt creates fear, which then paralyzes me to figure out the steps to become bold and self-disciplined to learn it. God thought of everything and provided me everything I need to succeed. It is up to me to include Him and allow the Holy Spirit to guide me, encourage me, and push me out of my comfort zone. When I do that, then I can experience the boldness God wants from me, the self-discipline he wants me to have, and to share the love he pours into me. That sounds so much more enjoyable than fighting the feelings of inadequacy that my mind wants me to believe. It is time to chose to believe God and who he has created me to be!

P~ Lord Jesus, thank you for developing areas of strength in my life, where I can be bold and audacious for you. Please have your Spirit help develop me to be confident in you. I do not want to be timid in any area of my life, and that is only possible through you! Clear my mind so that I may hear you, learn from you, and act on what you are teaching me. Thank you for wanting more from me than what I think I am capable of doing.

Am I Convinced? | Kim Chipman

S~ That is why I am suffering as I am. Yet this is no cause for shame,because I know whom I have believed, and am convinced that he is able to guard what I have entrusted to him until that day. 2 Timothy 1:12 (NIV)

O~ Paul is talking about the gospel and God’s grace. He has been appointed a herald/apostle/teacher, which is why he is suffering…but it’s all good! He trusts You.

A~ Suffering is hard for me to embrace and trust You through. This verse challenges my trust. Do I know whom I have believed? Am I convinced You are able to guard my heart? I’ve often felt that faith is much more a matter of being convinced than of arguing facts. Is my heart convinced (especially during suffering)? What is my life speaking? Do I live convinced when it’s hard or only when it’s comfortable? Do I live unashamed of my faith because I know You?

P~ Lord, I believe but help my unbelief! Help my heart to see if I truly trust You or if I need to adjust my heart. I love You!

When I want to give up on people | Nikki Metzger

S~ The hardworking farmer should be the first to receive a share of the crops. 2 Timothy 2:6 (NIV)

O~ This part of Scripture, Paul is teaching about serving God, following after God and not giving up.

A~ I can imagine a first time farmer, one who had never seen or worked the fields or tended crops.  So maybe someone who was born in the city and never saw a farm.  Then that city dweller goes and becomes a farmer for some reason.

That first season of farming for the city-farmer would probably be the most difficult one, never knowing what was happening or not happening under the dirt, having to wait.  For that city-farmer to keep on going, he would just have to do the next thing; be patient, and trust that at the end of the season there would be crops.

Sometimes when I feel like giving up on the people around me, or am questioning why I continue to do the things I do – I need to come back to this city-farmer.  The city-farmer scattered seeds, watered, weeded, waited.  I need to water my soul with Living Water, weed out any unhealthy roots growing in my soul, and to scatter Jesus wherever I go.  And I also need to consider patience!  The city-farmer doesn’t plant on a Monday and have corn on Tuesday.  Just like I don’t take the kids to church on Sunday and have Jesus loving, gospel spreading, hands raised in praise kids on Tuesday.  Patience doesn’t work that way.

And in the scattering of seeds, watering, weeding, and waiting, there is trust.  There is going to be a harvest time, even if it seems like forever in the waiting.  Jesus is coming back one day.  It is worth it to do those hard things daily so I will be prepared on that precious day.  And I will never know who will be a part of that harvest because I never gave up in the working and waiting part.

P~ Father, I love You!

The Hiding Place- by Corrie ten Boom | Joni Tyner

S~ So I am willing to endure anything if it will bring salvation and eternal glory in Christ Jesus to those God has chosen.  2 Timothy 2:10 (NLT)

O~ Paul is writing to Timothy while he is in prison.  He was not discouraged by his circumstances but wanted to encouraged Timothy in his faith.

A~ I just finished listening to the audiobook by Corrie ten Boom, “The Hiding Place”.  I had vaguely heard of her story but never really thought about reading or listening to it until I saw it on the list with Christian audio.   Boy was I blessed by this decision!

This scripture  exemplified  Corrie and her sister’s life.  They go to incredible lengths to hide Jews during World War II.  As many readers probably know, she is eventually arrested and put into a concentration camp for the crime of “helping Jews”.  This book shows her courage and faithfulness and God’s faithfulness to answer her prayers while in the concentration camp.  I just can’t emphasize enough how much I’ve been thinking about her since listening to this book.  She is going to be on my list of people to talk with in Heaven and tell her thank you for being  such a faithful servant to God.   If I could be so bold to suggest if you read one book this next year, put this on your list! I’ve recently been listening to book downloads and I am plowing through books in days that used to take months.  It’s amazing how much time I spend driving, cooking, laundry, ect, that I can listen to an audio book and fill my mind with the things of God.  Here’s the link, I’m sure there are other sources for audio books, but this is the one I’ve been using. http://christianaudio.com/the-hiding-place-corrie-ten-boom-with-john-elizabeth-sherrill-audiobook-download

P~ Dear Lord, thank you for your faithful servants—the ten Boom family.  Thank you that in addition to the people they brought into the Kingdom while they were alive, they also encourage believers to be faithful in their own lives in this age.  Please help me be less selfish and more focused on the importance of loving others to Your Kingdom.

That D-word Again | Tara Wiley 

S~ For God has not given us a spirit of timidity, but of power and love and discipline

But realize this, that in the last days difficult times will come. For men will be lovers of self, lovers of money, boastful, arrogant, revilers, disobedient to parents, ungrateful, unholy, unloving, irreconcilable, malicious gossips, without self-control, brutal, haters of good, treacherous, reckless, conceited, lovers of pleasure rather than lovers of God…

You, however, continue in the things you have learned and become convinced of, knowing from whom you have learned them, and that from childhood you have known the sacred writings which are able to give you the wisdom that leads to salvation through faith which is in Christ Jesus.

2 Timothy 1:7, 3:1-4, 14-15 NASB

O~ This is a big chunk of Scripture, not the usual ‘pick one verse’ thing I try to do with SOAP notes. But as I read 2 Timothy today, it struck me that Paul begins by listing out what God has given us to be able to overcome (power, love, a strong and disciplined mind… the Spirit)… then lists what it is we will have to battle against, to overcome (hard times, distractions and temptations)… then reminds us that by setting strong spiritual habits in our lives, we inoculate ourselves against the temptations of this world.

A~ The laundry list of struggles in chapter 3 sure looks like it was written by a contemporary author, not a man sitting in a jail cell 2,000 years ago. There really is nothing new under the sun – just new trappings for the same old sin. And just as the sin list is not new, nor is the habit-forming that will keep us out of it. We’re always looking for the next shiny new thing, but it’s the tried and true methods that will keep us strong.

P~ Lord, You know I buck the system when it comes to habit forming. It feels restrictive to my free-spirit inner artist. But I have tasted the sweet fruit that comes from strong habit forming in my spiritual life, especially regarding getting into Your Word, journaling about it, and memorizing it. Lately, I’ve let distractions take a front seat instead of the steady spiritual disciplines that keep me healthy and strong, inoculated against sin. As I look ahead into the new year, I know I need to renew my commitment to the word You wanted me to focus on this year: discipline. I fought so hard against that! And as a result, I know You’re not done with me yet in this arena. What You HAVE done this year is proven over and over again that You are so faithful to provide just what I need just when I need it. So, I know I can trust You to provide the tools I need to live in the Spirit of power, love, and discipline. Help me just to get my will to join Yours, in new and profoundly fruitful ways. I want to stand before you like Paul was looking forward to doing in this book, with joy receiving the crown of life You have reserved for me, knowing I have a stack of crowns to lay at Your feet. That’s what I want, Lord. It will take discipline to make my life fruitful and meaningful for You. So, tonight, I will commit fresh once more to listening to Your prompting and following through. Thank You for Your faithfulness!

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on December 10, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

